Online psychiatry

Online psychiatry and medication management

Online psychiatry services differ most in one thing: what they will prescribe. We compare the 57 services that offer medication management, show which will prescribe controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants, which bill insurance, and what each costs. Every figure links to its source.

Updated monthly · checked 2 wk ago
57offer psychiatry
12prescribe controlled substances
41bill insurance in network
98of 126 prices found on their own pages Nov 1, 2026

Online psychiatry services differ most in what they will prescribe. Of the 57 that offer medication management, 12 will prescribe controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants when a clinician judges it appropriate, while 35 limit or exclude them. 41 bill insurance in network. Check your in-network estimate (copays as low as $15 average copay/session (most insured members pay $0) at Talkspace). To combine insurance with stimulant prescribing, 9 services do both, including Thriveworks.

57

offer online psychiatry

Medication management from a psychiatrist or psychiatric nurse practitioner, not talk therapy alone.

21%

prescribe controlled substances

12 of 57 will prescribe a controlled stimulant when appropriate. The rest restrict or exclude them.

72%

bill insurance in network

41 of 57 psychiatry services bill insurance in network, by each service's own stated policy. Confirm coverage with your plan.

How to read this

The four prescribing postures

The single biggest difference between online psychiatry services is how they handle controlled substances, the class that includes ADHD stimulants. Each service below is marked with one of these postures, taken from its own stated policy.

Stimulants when appropriate

12 services

Will prescribe controlled substances, including ADHD stimulants such as Adderall or Vyvanse, when a clinician judges it appropriate.

Controlled restricted

14 services

Offers medication management but limits controlled substances, often not starting new stimulant prescriptions by telehealth.

Non-controlled only

21 services

Prescribes non-controlled psychiatric medication such as antidepressants, but not controlled substances like stimulants.

Not disclosed

10 services

Offers psychiatry but does not publish a controlled-substance policy. Confirm before enrolling if you need a specific medication.

Every psychiatry service, compared

Prescribing, insurance, and price

Services that offer online medication management, with insurance-accepting options first, then by the cheapest way to start. Prescribing shows each service's controlled-substance posture; every price links to the record that proves it.

ServicePrescribingPsychiatry (cash)With insurance
TalkspaceVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only$299 eval / $175 follow-up$15 average copay/session (most insured members pay $0)
RulaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Controlled restricted$225 initial / $175 follow-up$15 average per session with insurance
ThriveworksVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Stimulants when appropriate$300-$375 first / $210-$300 follow-up$0-$55 copay/session ($17 on average)
AlmaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Not disclosed–$20 average per session with insurance
Grow TherapyVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Stimulants when appropriateEach provider's own self-pay rate, shown before you book$21 average per session with insurance
BetterHelpVisit site
Subscription therapy
Non-controlled only$26 average copay/session$23 average copay/session
Brightside HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Controlled restricted$95/mo$25 average copay/session
SonderMindVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Stimulants when appropriate$100 to $250 per session (SonderMind says its self-pay costs track national averages)$25 average copay per session
Workit HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted$250 first month, then $150/month for alcohol care$25 to $35 per month with most insurance (medication billed separately)
TalkiatryVisit site
Psychiatry
Stimulants when appropriate$30 or less per visit for most patients after insurance$30 or less per visit for most patients after insurance
HeadwayVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Stimulants when appropriate–$20-$50 copay/session
Two ChairsVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Not disclosed$245/session ($270 first)Under $30/session for most clients after the deductible
PlushCareVisit site
Telehealth platform
Non-controlled only$30 or less per doctor visit for most patients$30 or less per doctor visit for most patients
CerebralVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only$180 every 3 months ($60/month)In-network, cost varies by plan
WellniteVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only$95/month (billed biweekly)In-network, cost varies by plan
Ria HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Not disclosed–In-network, cost varies by plan
Bend HealthVisit site
Pediatric care
Not disclosed$549.99 per monthIn-network, cost varies by plan
OpheliaVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted$245 per month (does not include medication)Most patients pay less than $10 a month for care
Bicycle HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted$249 per month (not including medication)In-network, cost varies by plan
Eleanor HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted$249 per month (offered in some cases)In-network, cost varies by plan
Nema HealthVisit site
Trauma & PTSD care
Not disclosed$300 medication evaluation (60 min), then $175 per medication-management visit (25 min)In-network, cost varies by plan
Meru HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only–In-network, cost varies by plan
LifeStance HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Stimulants when appropriate$201 to $445 per session (LifeStance's US average self-pay psychiatry range; varies by state)$22 to $36 per session with insurance (about 70% of patients pay $45 or less)
MDLIVEVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled onlyUp to $299 initial, $159 follow-up (before insurance)$0 to $30 per session with participating insurance
Teladoc Health (Mental Health)Visit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only$235 initial, $105 follow-up (cash)As low as $0 per visit with insurance
Doctor On DemandVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Non-controlled only$299 initial (45 min), $129 follow-up (15 min)As low as $0 per visit with a participating plan
Array Behavioral CareVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Not disclosed$425 per initial psychiatry evaluation (CPT 90792)In-network, cost varies by plan
Headspace CareVisit site
Employer / EAP
Non-controlled only$149 per session$0 to $35 per session for most insured members
Circle MedicalVisit site
ADHD care
Stimulants when appropriate$120 per appointment (self-pay)$35 average out-of-pocket per visit with insurance (last six months)
EquipVisit site
Eating-disorder care
Not disclosed–In-network, cost varies by plan
Within HealthVisit site
Eating-disorder care
Not disclosed–In-network, cost varies by plan
BrightlineVisit site
Pediatric care
Not disclosed$225 to $350 per sessionAverage $33 per therapy session and $38 per psychiatry session after the deductible is met (claims May 2025 to May 2026)
MonumentVisit site
Addiction care
Non-controlled only$100 per session without insurance$25 per video appointment with insurance
Boulder CareVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restrictedAbout $40/week for some medications via GoodRx (self-pay); program self-pay fee not publicly listedIn-network, cost varies by plan
AffectVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted–In-network, cost varies by plan
Spring HealthVisit site
Employer / EAP
Non-controlled only–As low as $0 with in-network insurance
AmwellVisit site
Telehealth platform
Non-controlled only$292 initial / $109-$169 follow-upIn-network, cost varies by plan
Little OtterVisit site
Youth & family
Stimulants when appropriate$250/session ($500 assessment)In-network, cost varies by plan
Charlie HealthVisit site
Intensive outpatient
Controlled restricted–Billed to insurance; the majority of clients pay $0 out of pocket, it says
Mindful CareVisit site
Psychiatry
Controlled restricted$175 initial / $75 follow-upIn-network, cost varies by plan
Anywhere ClinicVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Stimulants when appropriate$150 per visit for both new and follow-up visits$0 to $50 typical copay
Hims & HersVisit site
Psychiatry
Non-controlled only$49/moCash only
GoodRx CareVisit site
Telehealth platform
Non-controlled only$59 per anxiety or depression visitCash only
SesameVisit site
Cash marketplace
Non-controlled only$79/moOut-of-network only
Lemonaid HealthVisit site
Psychiatry
Non-controlled only$95/monthCash only
QuickMDVisit site
Addiction care
Controlled restricted$99 per visit; medication separateCash only
Oar HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Non-controlled only–Cash only
JoyousVisit site
Ketamine therapy
Controlled restricted$129/month with a 3-month commitmentCash only
DoneVisit site
ADHD care
Stimulants when appropriate$79 per month after the first monthOut-of-network only
Included Health
Employer / EAP
Non-controlled only–Employer or plan benefit
K HealthVisit site
Psychiatry
Non-controlled only–Cash only
ZencareVisit site
Therapist directory
Not disclosedFree for clients to search, filter, and book consultationsAbout $25 to $35 copay per session with insurance (varies by provider)
Modern Health
Employer / EAP
Non-controlled only–Employer or plan benefit
ADHD OnlineVisit site
ADHD care
Stimulants when appropriate$199 initial, $185 per follow-up visitOut-of-network only
Lyra Health
Employer / EAP
Controlled restrictedSet by your employer's Lyra plan: many members get a set number of sessions at no cost, others pay low copaysEmployer or plan benefit
Klarity HealthVisit site
Psychiatry
Stimulants when appropriate$51 per self-pay visit (each provider sets its price)Varies by therapist
MindbloomVisit site
Ketamine therapy
Controlled restricted$1,290 for 6 sessions ($430 a month for 3 months)Out-of-network only

Prescribing postures are each service's stated controlled-substance policy from our service attributes (last reviewed 2026-10-18); see a service's page for its source. Prices are the service's published rates, cross-checked against independent reviews and re-verified on a schedule (last verified 2026-10-18). Psychiatry pricing shown is a cash rate where published; an initial evaluation usually costs more than later follow-ups. Confirm current prescribing, pricing, and coverage with the service and your insurer.

Getting ADHD medication online

16 of 32 ADHD services prescribe stimulants

Of the services that treat ADHD with medication management, these are the ones whose own pages say they prescribe stimulants (such as Adderall or Vyvanse) when a clinician judges it appropriate, some only with a limit they state. The rest treat ADHD but prescribe non-stimulant options only, or do not say.

RulaInsurance marketplace · Stimulants with limitsfrom $225 initial / $175 follow-upThriveworksInsurance marketplace · Stimulants with limitsfrom $300-$375 first / $210-$300 follow-upGrow TherapyInsurance marketplace · Stimulants with limitsfrom $21 average per session with insuranceBrightside HealthTherapy + psychiatry · Stimulants with limitsfrom $95/moSonderMindInsurance marketplace · Stimulants when appropriatefrom $25 average copay per sessionTalkiatryPsychiatry · Stimulants with limitsfrom $30 or less per visit for most patients after insuranceHeadwayInsurance marketplace · Stimulants with limitsfrom $20-$50 copay/sessionLifeStance HealthTherapy + psychiatry · Stimulants with limitsfrom $201 to $445 per session (LifeStance's US average self-pay psychiatry range; varies by state)Circle MedicalADHD care · Stimulants with limitsLittle OtterYouth & family · Stimulants when appropriatefrom $250/session ($500 assessment)Mindful CarePsychiatry · Stimulants with limitsfrom $175 initial / $75 follow-upAnywhere ClinicTherapy + psychiatry · Stimulants with limitsfrom $150 per visit for both new and follow-up visitsDoneADHD care · Stimulants when appropriatefrom $79 per month after the first monthADHD OnlineADHD care · Stimulants when appropriatefrom $199 initial, $185 per follow-up visitLyra HealthEmployer / EAP · Stimulants with limitsfrom Set by your employer's Lyra plan: many members get a set number of sessions at no cost, others pay low copaysKlarity HealthPsychiatry · Stimulants with limits
Every online service for ADHD: who diagnoses, who prescribes stimulants, insurance and prices

Federal telehealth rules currently allow controlled substances, including ADHD stimulants, to be prescribed without a prior in-person visit through December 31, 2026 under a temporary DEA and HHS extension; a permanent rule is still pending. A first psychiatry appointment is a diagnostic evaluation, not a guaranteed prescription, and state rules can add requirements, so confirm what a service can actually provide in your state before enrolling. What changes when the rule ends on December 31, 2026.

How to choose

What to check before you start

Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is a neurodevelopmental condition marked by an ongoing pattern of inattention and/or hyperactivity-impulsivity that interferes with functioning, and it often continues from childhood into adulthood.

Online therapy can help with the skills side of ADHD, coaching on organization and time management and treating the anxiety or low mood that often accompany it, and CBT adapted for ADHD has good evidence. Therapy alone does not replace a full diagnostic evaluation or medication: stimulants are first-line for many people but require a prescriber, and telehealth prescribing of controlled stimulants is subject to state and federal rules, so check what a given service can actually provide.

  • Confirm whether the service can actually diagnose ADHD and whether it prescribes stimulant medication, since many telehealth services limit or exclude controlled substances.
  • Check prescriber availability in your state, as telehealth stimulant rules vary by state.
  • Look for therapists experienced specifically with ADHD and executive-function coaching, not general talk therapy.
  • If the client is a child or teen, verify the service treats that age range and offers behavioral parent training.

How online psychiatry care works

CBT adapted for adult ADHD
builds concrete skills for planning, organization, and managing distractibility and procrastination
Behavioral therapy and parent training
first-line for children, especially under age 6, using structured behavior strategies at home and school
Executive-function coaching
structured skills and accountability support for habits and routines alongside medical treatment
Medication management
not therapy, but stimulant or non-stimulant medication from a prescriber is a core, evidence-based treatment often combined with therapy

Sources:CDC / National Center for Health Statistics (MMWR)National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Online psychiatry is delivered by licensed psychiatrists or psychiatric nurse practitioners. Confirm the prescriber is licensed in the state where you are physically located during visits, and, if medication is part of your plan, that the service will manage the specific medication you need. See the full ADHD guide for the clinical detail.

Questions

Online psychiatry, answered

Can you get ADHD medication prescribed online?
Often, yes. Of the 32 online services that treat ADHD with medication management, 16 will prescribe a controlled stimulant such as Adderall or Vyvanse when a clinician judges it appropriate (for example Rula, Thriveworks, Grow Therapy), 12 of them only with a limit they state, such as an in-person visit or no stimulants in some states. Federal telehealth flexibilities currently allow controlled substances to be prescribed without a prior in-person visit through December 31, 2026 under a temporary DEA and HHS extension, but each service sets its own policy and some prescribe non-stimulant options only, so confirm before enrolling.
How much does online psychiatry cost?
It depends on the route. Cash psychiatry evaluations generally run about $199 to $425, with follow-up visits often $125 to $175, and some services sell a flat monthly membership instead (around $95 a month). With insurance you usually pay only your plan copay: the lowest we recorded is $15 average copay/session (most insured members pay $0) at Talkspace. An initial psychiatry appointment is a longer diagnostic evaluation and typically costs more than the follow-ups that come after.
Does insurance cover online psychiatry?
Often. Of the 57 services that offer online psychiatry, 41 bill insurance in network, going by each service's own stated insurance policy. Coverage and your copay still depend on your specific plan and whether the prescriber is in network, so confirm psychiatry (medication management) coverage with your insurer before your first visit.
What is the difference between online therapy and online psychiatry?
Online therapy is talk therapy delivered by a licensed therapist or counselor, who cannot prescribe medication. Online psychiatry is medical care from a psychiatrist or psychiatric nurse practitioner who can diagnose, prescribe, and manage medication. Many people use both: therapy for the skills and support, and psychiatry for medication when it is indicated. Some services offer both under one roof.
Which online psychiatry services prescribe controlled substances?
12 of the 57 services we compare will prescribe controlled substances (including ADHD stimulants) when clinically appropriate, 14 restrict them, and 21 prescribe non-controlled medication only. The comparison above marks each service's posture. Because telehealth stimulant rules are set by federal and state law and are under active review, a service's policy can change, so verify current prescribing at the service itself.
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, pharmacy, or insurer. Prescribing policies, prices, and coverage shown are the cited source's figures on the date noted and can change; whether any medication is appropriate is a decision for a licensed clinician, and controlled-substance prescribing by telehealth is governed by evolving federal and state law. Confirm current details with the service and your insurer. If you are in danger or crisis, call or text 988.
Keep going

Compare deeper