Free online therapy: every real way to get it
Free therapy from a licensed clinician exists, but nearly always because someone else pays: your employer, Medicaid, your health plan, a city or a school. Here is each route, who qualifies, what each online service says about free trials, and the free lines that are support rather than therapy. Every answer links to the page that states it.
Free online therapy comes through someone who pays for you: an employee assistance program at work (60 percent of private-industry workers have one), Medicaid, an insurance plan with a $0 copay (8 services say some members pay $0), a city, state or school program for young people (11 listed below), a community health center (a full discount at the lowest incomes), or Vet Center counseling for eligible veterans. Services you pay for yourself almost never start free: of 54 we checked, only PlushCare states a free trial (what it covers is in the table below), and BetterHelp, Calmerry, NOCD, Online-Therapy.com and Talkspace say there is none. Crisis lines and peer listeners are free to anyone, but they are support, not therapy. In a crisis, call or text 988.
Find the free route that fits you
Free sessions through your employer (EAP)
An employee assistance program pays for a few short-term counseling sessions. Under federal rules an EAP that stands apart from your health plan cannot charge a premium or a copay, and you can use it whether or not you are on your employer's health plan.
Who has one
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, National Compensation Survey, March 2026. Your HR or benefits portal names yours.
The online platforms employers use
Many employers run their EAP through one of these. Each says on its own pages that your employer sets how many sessions are free.
Services that say an employer, school, city or health plan can cover them in full
- Brightside Health: Its FAQ (Wayback copy of July 28, 2026) says that with Cigna all care is covered, including consultations, unlimited messaging, treatment monitoring and prescription management.
- Doctor On Demand: Its FAQ says that when a visit is paid through insurance or employer benefits, the cost depends on the benefits and in many cases is $0.
- Grow Therapy: Its help center article (dated 2026-07-29) says Amazon employees, their dependents and eligible household members receive six free therapy sessions per issue per calendar year through the employee benefits program.
- Headway: Its help center (updated 2026-10-07) says sessions through an employer's employee assistance program (EAP) are completely free, though it may require a payment method on file for late cancellation fees.
- MDLIVE: Its cost FAQ says that if a patient has MDLIVE services through a health plan or employer, appointments could cost as little as $0, depending on benefits. This is general to the platform, not specific to mental health.
- Meru Health: Its App Store listing says Meru Health is covered by several health insurance providers and is a free employee benefit with some employers.
- Ophelia: Its pricing page says most insurance plans cover the full cost of Suboxone or generic buprenorphine, and says small copays may apply depending on the plan.
- Ria Health: Its how-it-works page says that, depending on the plan, members may be able to use the service for little to no cost.
- SonderMind: Its military FAQ says care is covered in full for people with TRICARE Prime HMO Active Duty.
- Talkspace: Its help center (updated July 30, 2026) says that when an employer, school, city or other organization covers Talkspace, members receive services at no cost, with the amount of messaging or live sessions depending on the benefit.
- Teladoc Health (Mental Health): Its Wellbound Employee Assistance Program page says covered employees get a limited number of BetterHelp therapy sessions at no cost. It does not state the number of sessions.
Medicaid, CHIP and health centers
If money is tight, public coverage is the biggest route to free or nearly free therapy, and health centers must see you whatever you can pay.
- Who
- Anyone, insured or not; fees are adjusted to income and family size
- What it gives
- Care at a local clinic, mental health included, from staff that include therapists and social workers; ask yours about phone or video visits
- Cost
- A full discount at or below the federal poverty guideline (a nominal charge may apply); reduced fees up to twice the guideline
- How to start
- Find the nearest one with HRSA's Find a Health Center tool (findahealthcenter.hrsa.gov)
- Who
- Children under 19 whose families earn too much for Medicaid; limits vary by state
- What it gives
- Coverage that pays for care, mental health and substance use care included
- How to start
- Apply through your state's CHIP program
Medicaid is the single largest payer for mental health services in the United States.
- Who
- People enrolled in their state's Medicaid program
- What it gives
- Coverage that pays for mental health care
- How to start
- Apply through your state's Medicaid agency, or ask your plan which online providers it covers
- Who
- People enrolled in Medicaid; children and some other groups are exempt from out-of-pocket costs
- What it gives
- A federal limit on what Medicaid can charge you for covered care
- How to start
- Ask your state Medicaid agency or Medicaid plan what a therapy visit costs you
25 online services in our catalog name Medicaid on their own pages, most for some states or plans only. See each one and its limit.
8 services say some insured members pay $0
With a plan that covers it, online therapy can cost nothing per session, though it depends on your plan's copay and deductible. Each statement below is the service's own wording.
- BetterHelp: Its pricing page, updated October 14, 2026, says that with insurance many members pay $15 or less and some pay $0; it says coverage varies by plan, provider and therapist availability.
- Charlie Health: Its insurance page says the majority of its clients pay $0 out-of-pocket, in a statement about its in-network insurance plans.
- Done: Its billing FAQ says that with insurance, medication copays can be as low as $0. That figure is for medication, not for Done's visits or membership.
- Grow Therapy: Its How it works page says some clients pay as little as $0 per session, in the paragraph about the average cost with insurance.
- MDLIVE: Its mental health page prices therapy at $0 to $179 and psychiatry at $0 to $299 for an initial visit, and says copays for participating plans may be as low as $0.
- Talkspace: Its pricing page says it bills insurance plans directly and that most insured members have a $0 copay.
- Teladoc Health (Mental Health): Its mental health FAQ says that with insurance, therapy visits may be available at no cost, depending on the health plan.
- Thriveworks: Its pricing page says in-network insurance lets many patients pay $0 to $55 per session in copays, depending on the plan.
11 free programs for young people
Some cities, states and school districts pay for online counseling for young people who live or study there. Each runs only in its own area; check who qualifies on its page.
| Program | Who can use it | What it gives | How to start |
|---|---|---|---|
| NYC Teenspace New York CityFree | Anyone 13 to 17 living in New York City, whatever their school, income or insurance | Therapy with a licensed therapist through Talkspace, mostly by messaging, with one live session a month | Sign up at talkspace.com/NYC; a parent or guardian gives consent by email |
| Seattle youth therapy SeattleFree | Seattle residents 13 to 24 | Therapy with a licensed therapist through Talkspace by messaging, one live video session a month, and self-guided support | Sign up at talkspace.com/seattle with an age and zip code |
| Baltimore County Public Schools therapy Baltimore County, MarylandFree | Baltimore County public high school students 13 and older | Therapy through Talkspace | Sign up on Talkspace's Baltimore County page; a parent gives consent by email where required |
| I Matter ColoradoFree, whatever the insurance | Colorado youth 18 and younger (21 and younger in special education) | Counseling sessions with a licensed therapist | Youth or a parent go to IMatterColorado.org to find a therapist and book |
| TCHATT school telehealth TexasFree | Students at Texas public schools whose district has signed up | Telehealth sessions with licensed clinicians, arranged through the school; not for crises | Ask the school counselor; the school refers the student and a parent gives written consent |
| Soluna CaliforniaFree | California residents 13 to 25 | Coaching, not therapy: live one-on-one coaching by video, phone or chat, plus self-guided tools | Get the Soluna app or use solunaapp.com |
| BrightLife Kids CaliforniaFree (paid for by the state) | California families with a child 0 to 12 | Parent coaching, not therapy: live video sessions and chat | Sign up at brightlife.kids |
| Free therapy for justice-involved teens North CarolinaFree | Teens 13 to 17 involved with or affected by the justice system, by referral | Therapy with a licensed therapist through Talkspace by text, audio or video | Get a referral keyword from a court counselor or case manager, then sign up at talkspace.com/coverage/ncyouth |
| SafeUT UtahFree | Students at participating Utah schools | Crisis and support chat or calls with licensed counselors, 24 hours a day | Download the SafeUT app or chat at safeut.org |
| Hazel Health partner school districts$0 to families | K-12 students in a partner district | Weekly online sessions with a licensed therapist, on weekdays 7am to 7pm | School staff or a guardian refers the student; a guardian always consents |
| Daybreak Health through schools partner schoolsUsually free or low-cost through the school | K-12 students at a partner school | Teletherapy with Daybreak clinicians | Start from Daybreak's page for families |
Free counseling for veterans, service members and families
The VA and the Defense Department run free counseling that does not depend on insurance.
- Who
- Children 6 to 17 of active-duty, Guard and reserve members and recently separated or retired service members
- What it gives
- Short-term, confidential counseling (not medical care) in person or by video; for ages 6 to 12, family sessions with a parent
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call 800-342-9647 or start a secure chat; up to 12 sessions when appropriate
- Who
- Eligible veterans and service members, National Guard and Reserve included, and their families; VA health care enrollment is not required
- What it gives
- Individual and group counseling in a non-medical setting; many Vet Centers also offer phone or video appointments
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call 877-927-8387 (24/7) or walk in to a Vet Center during clinic hours
- Who
- Active-duty, National Guard and Reserve members and their immediate families listed in DEERS, and for 365 days after separation
- What it gives
- Short-term counseling with licensed counselors (up to 12 sessions per issue) for stress, relationships, parenting or grief, in person, by phone, video or chat
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call 800-342-9647 (24/7) or start a secure live chat
When nothing free fits: the lowest-cost routes
If no one will pay for you, these are the cheapest ways to see a licensed clinician online, each from the service's own pages.
The lowest prices for one session
- Open Path Psychotherapy Collective: $40 to $70 per individual session
- Array Behavioral Care: $60 (30 min), $75 (45 min) or $107.50 (60 min) per therapy session; $275 initial therapy evaluation
- Wellnite: $75 per individual session; $135 per couples session
Income-based aid and sliding scales
- BetterHelp: Its pricing page, updated October 14, 2026, says eligible non-insured users may qualify for reduced rates based on income and employment status. A second BetterHelp page, updated October 2, 2026, says to apply at betterhelp.com/financialaid after creating an account.
- Calmerry: Its pricing page FAQ says it has financial aid options for people in need and may offer up to a 30% discount for 3 months of therapy on any plan, and asks people to contact its support team to apply.
- Grow Therapy: Its How it works page says it offers self-pay and sliding scale options for people not using insurance, and its help center says that when a provider does not accept the patient's insurance, sessions are automatically billed at that provider's self-pay rate. These pages give no sliding scale amounts or income rules.
- Joyous: Its company page says it invests monthly in a fund that gives financial assistance to patients who cannot afford the full cost of treatment, and its provider information page says it offers financial assistance. Neither page says who qualifies, how much it is, or how to apply.
- Online-Therapy.com: Its FAQ says students, veterans and people with a low income may apply for financial aid, and that people for whom affordability is a concern can apply during checkout. The FAQ does not state how much aid is given.
- Open Path Psychotherapy Collective: Its pricing page says therapists in its network offer members sliding-scale rates of $40-70 per individual session (US figures; its Canadian pages print Canadian dollar amounts). Its membership page says members pay a one-time, lifetime membership fee of $65 to access the network.
A free consultation is not free therapy, but it lets you meet a clinician before paying: ADHD Online, Cerebral, Equip, Headway, Hims & Hers, Joyous, Klarity Health, NOCD, Ophelia, Ria Health and Zencare say on their own pages that they offer one.
Does any online therapy service have a free trial?
Almost none. Of 54 services whose pages we checked for discounts, 1 states a free trial and 5 say plainly there is none; the rest do not mention one. A promo code on a coupon site is not the service's word.
Free lines and peer support: help, but not therapy
These need no insurance, and most say they are free. They are crisis counseling, information or support from trained peers, not ongoing treatment with a licensed therapist, and many are the right first call.
- Who
- Anyone
- What it gives
- Crisis counseling by call, text or chat (not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org
- Who
- Anyone
- What it gives
- Text support from trained volunteer crisis counselors (not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Text HOME to 741741
- Who
- LGBTQ+ young people under 25
- What it gives
- Crisis counseling by phone, text or chat (not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Text START to 678-678, call 1-866-488-7386, or chat at thetrevorproject.org/get-help
- Who
- Veterans, service members, Guard and Reserve members and those who support them, enrolled in VA care or not
- What it gives
- Crisis counseling by call, chat or text (not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Dial 988 then press 1, chat online, or text 838255
- Who
- Veterans, service members, National Guard and Reserve members, and those who support them. You do not have to be enrolled in VA benefits or health care to connect.
- What it gives
- Crisis support from a qualified, caring responder by phone, online chat or text. The responder asks whether anyone is in immediate danger, helps you make a plan to stay safe, and connects you with resources from your local VA medical center or your community.
- Cost
- Free and confidential
- How to start
- Dial 988 then press 1, chat online at VeteransCrisisLine.net/Chat, or text 838255. Available 24/7, 365 days a year.
- Who
- Anyone facing a substance use or mental disorder, and their families
- What it gives
- Treatment referral and information, 24/7, in English and Spanish (not counseling)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call 1-800-662-HELP (4357), TTY 1-800-487-4889, or text your ZIP code to 435748
- Who
- Anyone looking for treatment, with or without insurance
- What it gives
- A confidential, anonymous locator of state-licensed treatment (not care)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Search by location at findtreatment.gov
- Who
- Anyone, for themselves, family or friends
- What it gives
- Emotional support, mental health information and resources from trained staff (not a crisis line, not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call 1-800-950-NAMI (6264) or text NAMI to 62640, Monday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET
Peer support and free tiers
- Who
- Young people up to 19
- What it gives
- Support from trained teen volunteers supervised by adult professionals (not therapy)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Call (800) 852-8336, 6 to 10 PM Pacific, or text TEEN to 839863, 6 to 9 PM Pacific
SMART Recovery runs free mutual-help meetings online and in person, guided by trained facilitators.
- Who
- People seeking support for addiction to drugs, alcohol and other behaviors, and their family and friends
- What it gives
- Mutual-help meetings led by trained facilitators (peer support, not treatment)
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Find a meeting at smartrecovery.org/meeting
- Who
- People living with depression or bipolar disorder
- What it gives
- Free online peer support groups
- Cost
- Free
- How to start
- Register for a meeting through DBSA's online support groups page
- Who
- Anyone who wants to talk and is not in crisis
- What it gives
- Non-crisis emotional support by phone, text or chat from trained peers with lived experience (not therapy)
- How to start
- Find one that serves your area in the NAMI National Warmline Directory
Give an Hour's peer support groups are virtual, meet regularly and are always offered at no cost.
- Who
- People with shared lived experiences. Give an Hour's homepage lists weekly peer support groups for Military and Veterans and for Military Family.
- What it gives
- Regular virtual peer support groups led by trained peer supporters guided by experienced facilitators, who offer emotional support, shared knowledge and practical skills. Peer supporters are not licensed mental health professionals.
- Cost
- Always offered at no cost
- How to start
- Choose a group on giveanhour.org/peersupport, fill out the Contact Us and Register form, and the link is emailed to you. Join the regular virtual meetings.
- Who
- Active service members, National Guard members, reservists, veterans, and their families or caregivers. It operates independently of the VA and the U.S. military.
- What it gives
- Live, confidential peer support from trained veterans and military family members (not trained counselors), who listen, connect you to resources and follow up on every call until an issue is resolved. Peers respond by phone, email, chat or text.
- Cost
- Free (its mission is to provide live, free, confidential, 24/7 peer support)
- How to start
- Call 855-838-8255, 24/7, or use Talk to Us on vets4warriors.com to call, request a call, chat or email.
Check first: Peers are trained in peer support, not trained counselors, so this is not therapy.
- 7 CupsNot therapy: Its homepage says it connects people to listeners for free emotional support, separate from the paid therapy service.
- Calmerry: Its pricing page says its platform is open to people without an active subscription, with a mood tracker, guided journaling and a library of resources free to use. This is self-help, not therapy.
- NOCD: Its cost blog says the NOCD app, with self-help tools, educational resources and an OCD community, can be used for free before starting with a therapist.
- Zencare: Its About page (archived 2026-05-18) says the Zencare matching service is free for people looking for therapy; therapy sessions themselves are billed by each therapist.
AI chatbots and self-guided apps are free or cheap too, and are not licensed care: AI therapy chatbots and self-guided apps, compared.
Free online therapy, answered
- Is there free online therapy?
- Yes, but almost always because someone else pays for it. The main routes are an employee assistance program through your job (60 percent of private-industry workers had one in March 2026), Medicaid, an insurance plan with a $0 copay, a free city, state or school program for young people, community health centers (a full discount at the lowest incomes), and Vet Centers for eligible veterans. Services you pay for yourself rarely give therapy away: of 54 services whose pages we checked, 1 states a free trial (PlushCare), and BetterHelp, Calmerry, NOCD, Online-Therapy.com and Talkspace say there is none. Crisis lines and peer listeners are free to anyone, but they are support, not therapy.
- How can I get free therapy with no insurance?
- Check whether your job has an employee assistance program (EAP): it gives a few free counseling sessions whether or not you have health insurance. Health centers treat mental health needs among others, must serve everyone even if they cannot pay, and adjust their fees based on income and family size. If your income is low, you may qualify for Medicaid, which covers mental health care. When nothing free fits, sliding-scale networks are the cheapest paid route: Open Path Psychotherapy Collective lists $40 to $70 per individual session. BetterHelp, Calmerry, Grow Therapy, Joyous, Online-Therapy.com and Open Path Psychotherapy Collective describe income-based aid or a sliding scale on their own pages.
- Is BetterHelp free?
- Its free-trial article, updated October 2, 2026, says BetterHelp does not currently offer a free trial. Its pricing page, updated October 14, 2026, says that with insurance many members pay $15 or less and some pay $0; it says coverage varies by plan, provider and therapist availability. Its listed price: $70 to $100/week.
- Is Talkspace free?
- Its help center (updated October 4, 2026) says it does not currently offer free therapy services. Its pricing page says it bills insurance plans directly and that most insured members have a $0 copay. Its help center (updated July 30, 2026) says that when an employer, school, city or other organization covers Talkspace, members receive services at no cost, with the amount of messaging or live sessions depending on the benefit. Its help center (updated July 30, 2026) describes employee assistance programs (EAPs) as offering free counseling, and says an employer can cover Talkspace through an EAP with a set number of prepaid sessions. Its help center (updated April 22, 2026) says teens ages 13 to 17 who live in New York City can enroll in the NYC Teenspace program through the city health department, which offers free therapy tools and services. Its listed price: $69/wk.
- Is there free online therapy chat, 24/7?
- Free 24/7 chat and text lines exist, but they give crisis support, not ongoing therapy: 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, Crisis Text Line, The Trevor Project, Veterans Crisis Line and Veterans Crisis Line. Peer support (Teen Line, SMART Recovery meetings, DBSA online support groups, Peer-run warmlines, Give an Hour peer support groups and Vets4Warriors) is free and run by trained volunteers or peers, not clinicians. AI chatbots are not licensed care. For ongoing therapy by chat from a licensed therapist, the free routes are the ones someone else pays for: an EAP, Medicaid or a $0 insurance copay.
- Is therapy free with Medicaid?
- Often nearly. Most Medicaid out-of-pocket costs are limited to nominal amounts, and children are among the groups exempt from them. Each state sets its own copays, so ask your plan what a therapy visit costs. Medicaid is the single largest payer for mental health services in the United States. 25 online services in our catalog name Medicaid on their own pages, most for some states or plans only; each limit is on the Medicaid page.
- Where can teens get free online therapy?
- 11 city, state and school programs give young people free online care, each in its own area: NYC Teenspace (New York City), Seattle youth therapy (Seattle), Baltimore County Public Schools therapy (Baltimore County, Maryland), I Matter (Colorado), TCHATT school telehealth (Texas) and 6 more. Medicaid and CHIP cover children's mental health care for families who qualify.
- Can veterans and military families get free counseling?
- Eligible service members, veterans and family members can get free individual and group counseling at a Vet Center. Military OneSource counselors give free, short-term, confidential counseling for issues such as relationships, stress, parenting and grief, in person, by phone, by video or by online chat. The Veterans Crisis Line is free, confidential and available 24/7, and Veterans do not need to be enrolled in VA benefits or health care to use it.