Insomnia

Online insomnia treatment: CBT-I, sleep medication, and who prescribes what

Guidance recommends cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) before sleeping pills, and many online services will not prescribe Ambien at all. Here is which services give CBT-I, which prescribe for sleep and which medicines they name or rule out, what each costs, and the free CBT-I you can start tonight, from each one's own pages.

Facts checked ยท checked 3 d ago
42say they treat insomnia
14give CBT-I
24say no Ambien or controlled drugs

42 online services compared here say they treat insomnia; 14 give CBT-I and 26 prescribe for sleep. 24 say they do not prescribe Ambien or other controlled sleep medicines. Free CBT-I is available too: see the free options.

Who treats it

42 online services say they treat insomnia

What each service's own pages say about insomnia and CBT-I, the sleep medicines it names or rules out, insurance, and the price.

ServiceWhat its pages saySleep medicationInsurancePrice
Lemonaid HealthVisit site
Psychiatry
Adults
TrazodoneOther medicinesNo Ambien or other Z-drugsNo benzodiazepinesNo controlled substances

Lemonaid says it prescribes only non-controlled, non-habit-forming sleep aids, and names hydroxyzine and trazodone.

Self-pay onlyLemonaid's insomnia plan is $60 a month, shown as $30 for the first month.
Online-Therapy.comVisit site
Subscription therapy
Out of network onlyOnline-Therapy.com says its subscription rates start at $48 per week, including a 20% discount for the first month.
AmwellVisit site
Telehealth platform
Bills insurance: services covered vary by plan; some cover urgent care but not therapy$292 initial / $109-$169 follow-up
Anywhere ClinicVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Adults
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state: in network in 13 states and D.C. on its state pages; not Medi-Cal or Illinois Medicaid

Anywhere Clinic self-pay rate: $150 for new and follow-up visits (not specific to insomnia).
CerebralVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry

FTC order: health data shared for advertising and hard-to-cancel subscriptions, about $7 million

Justice Department and DEA: non-prosecution agreement over controlled-substance prescribing, $3.65 million forfeited

New York Attorney General settlement: more than $740,000 over cancellation practices

Adults
Bills insurance in networkTherapy is $150 per session, charged when booked.
LifeStance HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans; varies by state and provider

LifeStance says sleep treatment is generally covered by medical insurance, and coverage varies by plan. It states no sleep-specific price.
SonderMindVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Not statedBills insurance in networkSonderMind says self-pay rates for therapy vary by location, provider, session type and session length, and are shown before booking.
TalkiatryVisit site
Psychiatry
Adults
Bills insurance in networkMost visits cost patients $30 or less after insurance.
TalkspaceVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Bills insurance in networkMost insured members have a $0 copay; out-of-pocket individual therapy pricing starts at $69 per week.
WellniteVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Bills insurance in networkWellnite lists out-of-pocket therapy at $75 for an individual session and $135 for a couples session. It states no sleep-specific price.
CalmerryVisit site
Subscription therapy
Out of network onlyCalmerry lists its online therapy plans as starting from just $50 per week.
Klarity HealthVisit site
Psychiatry50 states
Z-drugs (Ambien, Lunesta)TrazodoneLow-dose doxepin (Silenor)Orexin blockers (Belsomra, Dayvigo, Quviviq)Ramelteon (Rozerem)Other medicines

Klarity says a provider on its marketplace can prescribe Ambien (zolpidem) after a telehealth visit if the provider decides it fits the person's insomnia.

Depends on the providerKlarity's insomnia page says self-pay starts at $51 and it accepts 400+ insurance plans.
ZencareVisit site
Therapist directory
Not statedDepends on the providerNo self-pay price published
AffectVisit site
Addiction care
Adults
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: plans in 16 states; Florida and Texas plans closed to new members

No self-pay price published
Array Behavioral CareVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Not statedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: Medi-Cal in California only

Self-pay fee for a 60-minute psychotherapy session is $107.50.
Bend HealthVisit site
Pediatric care
Not statedBills insurance in networkCoaching plan $199.99 per month; Coaching & Therapy plan $399.99 per month or pay with insurance.
BetterHelpVisit site
Subscription therapy

FTC order: $7.8 million over sharing health data for advertising

Adults
Bills insurance in networkA BetterHelp therapy subscription may cost $70 to $100 per week, billed weekly or monthly; psychiatry has an average copay of $26 per session for eligible insured members.
Brightside HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans in Oregon, North Carolina, Nebraska and Washington

Self-pay therapy costs $299 per month for four video sessions and unlimited messaging.
Circle MedicalVisit site
ADHD care

Justice Department False Claims Act settlement: $3.3 million over claims for services by providers who did not give them

Not statedBills insurance in networkCircle Medical says self-pay appointments start at $120.
Doctor On DemandVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some Medicaid managed-care plans

Doctor On Demand lists online psychiatry without insurance at $299 for the initial 45 minute consultation and $129 for a 15 minute follow-up. It states no insomnia-specific price.
EquipVisit site
Eating-disorder care
Not statedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: some states

No self-pay price published
Grow TherapyVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Not statedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: most states, plan by plan

No self-pay price published
HeadwayVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: select Medicaid managed care plans in some states

No self-pay price published
Little OtterVisit site
Youth & family22 states + DC
Children
Not statedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: Minnesota's Blue Plus Medical Assistance

Little Otter self-pay: therapy session $200, psychiatry assessment $500, then psychiatry session $250.
MDLIVEVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: through participating plans

MDLIVE mental health shows an initial visit at $0 to $179 for talk therapy and $0 to $299 for psychiatry, depending on insurance. It states no sleep-specific price.
Meru HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatryLimited availability
Bills insurance in networkNo self-pay price published
Mindful CareVisit site
Psychiatry9 states
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid managed plans; vary by state

Mindful Care self-pay psychiatry (medication management): a 40-minute initial evaluation costs $175.
NOCDVisit site
OCD therapy
Not statedBills insurance in networkMost members with in-network insurance have an average copay of $50 per session or less.
OpheliaVisit site
Addiction care
Adults
Bills insurance in network

Takes Medicaid

$245 per month
PlushCareVisit site
Telehealth platform
Adults
TrazodoneLow-dose doxepin (Silenor)Other medicinesNo Ambien or other Z-drugsNo benzodiazepinesNo controlled substances

PlushCare says its doctors cannot prescribe controlled substances for insomnia such as Ambien, Lunesta, Belsomra, Xanax and Valium, but can prescribe other sleep aids.

Bills insurance: doctor and psychiatry visits only; therapy is self-payPlushCare says insomnia treatment needs its monthly membership at $19.99 a month; the same page lists an initial visit at $129 without insurance.
Spring HealthVisit site
Employer / EAP
Bills insurance in networkSpring Health says that once a member's employer-sponsored sessions are used up, eligible clinical services such as therapy or Medication Care are routed to the insurance plan on file.
Teladoc Health (Mental Health)Visit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid managed care plans only, not fee-for-service

Teladoc says 24/7 Care visit costs depend on the health plan and are shown before connecting with a provider. It states no insomnia-specific price.
ThriveworksVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Bills insurance in networkThriveworks self-pay psychiatry: intake sessions range from $300 to $375 and follow-ups from $210 to $300, depending on location and provider.
Workit HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Adults
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid managed care in select states

Self-pay: opioid, kratom and 7-OH treatment $90 to start, then $75 a week (roughly $300 a month); alcohol treatment $250 the first month, then $150 a month.
7 CupsVisit site
Peer & group support
Not statedSelf-pay only7 Cups lists messaging therapy with a licensed therapist, with daily replies Monday to Friday, at $159.00 per month.
JoyousVisit site
Ketamine therapy
Adults
Not statedSelf-pay onlyJoyous says its ketamine plans start as low as $129 a month.
Open Path Psychotherapy CollectiveVisit site
Therapist directory
Self-pay onlyOpen Path says the per-session fee for individual counseling is in a range of $40 to $70 (US). It states no sleep-specific price.
QuickMDVisit site
Addiction care
Adults
Self-pay onlyMental health consultation $99 per visit; trazodone starts at $19 for a 30-day supply (medication priced separately).
SesameVisit site
Cash marketplace
Adults
Out of network onlyUpfront prices for an insomnia visit start as low as $34 before booking (each provider sets its own price).
Learn to Live
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: free through a sponsoring plan

A self-pay subscription to one Learn to Live program costs $149.
Included Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
AdultsTeens
Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: through a sponsoring health plan

Doctor On Demand by Included Health lists online psychiatry without insurance at $299 for the initial 45 minute consultation and $129 for a 15 minute follow-up. It states no insomnia-specific price.
Lyra Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Not statedEmployer or plan benefit onlyLyra says many members get a set number of therapy or coaching sessions at no cost, and others pay low copays or cost-sharing for extended care.

Read from each service's own pages on Oct 30, 2026. A prescriber's price is for a visit, not the medicine.

Free CBT-I

Free CBT-I and help finding a sleep specialist

Each verified on its own official page.

988 Suicide & Crisis LifelineNationalCrisis line

The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline is free, confidential and available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

Who
Anyone
What it gives
Crisis counseling by call, text or chat (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org
Insomnia Coach (VA)United States, phone app (iOS and Android)Official guidance

VA's Insomnia Coach app was created for everyone, including Veterans and Service members, to help manage insomnia.

Who
Anyone with insomnia, including Veterans and Service members.
What it gives
A self-care and education app based on CBT-I that can be used alone or alongside professional care.
How to start
Use the iOS or Android download link on the VA App Store page. The page asks people with sleep apnea, restless leg syndrome, bipolar disorder, seizure disorder, sleep walking, night terrors, excessive daytime sleepiness, or frailty and risk of falling to consult a health provider first.
CBT-i Coach (VA)United States, phone app (iOS and Android)Official guidance

VA's CBT-i Coach app is designed to be used with a mental healthcare provider as part of CBT-I and is not meant to be used for self-care.

Who
People who are already doing CBT-I with a health provider.
What it gives
An app that teaches sleep strategies, a sleep diary and relaxation tools to use during CBT-I with a provider.
How to start
Ask a mental health provider to deliver CBT-I with the app. For self-care without a provider, VA points to its separate Insomnia Coach app.
Path to Better Sleep: SleepEZ (VA Veteran Training)United States, online course (web and mobile)Official guidance

VA's SleepEZ course is a digital cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (dCBT-I) course in its Path to Better Sleep program.

Who
Written for Veterans. The course guidebook is for anyone who wants to help a Veteran taking the course.
What it gives
A digital CBT-I course that helps set a sleep schedule, change sleep behaviors and reduce unhelpful thoughts, with a sleep diary.
Cost
Free
How to start
Open the SleepEZ course on the VA Veteran Training site. The page says the courses are not intended to replace treatment by a healthcare professional.
Society of Behavioral Sleep Medicine provider directoryUnited States, in person and telehealth (varies by listed provider)Free directory

The Society of Behavioral Sleep Medicine's United States directory lists clinicians, including some who provide telehealth CBT-I for adults with insomnia.

Who
Adults and children looking for a clinician who provides CBT-I.
What it gives
A list of clinicians by state. Each listing shows the provider's services, whether it takes new patients and a phone number, and some say they provide telehealth CBT-I.
How to start
Open the United States list, pick a clinician in your state or one who offers telehealth, and call to ask about fees and insurance.
Ambien and controlled sleep medicines

24 services say they do not prescribe Ambien or other controlled drugs

Zolpidem (Ambien), eszopiclone (Lunesta) and the orexin blockers are Schedule IV controlled substances. Each service's own words:

Check before you pay

1 service says it does not treat insomnia

Each one's own words, from its own pages.

What guidance says

CBT-I first, and what the sleep medicine labels say

The FDA-approved insomnia medicines from their labels, and what clinical guidance and the research say.

How you pay

Insomnia treatment with insurance, Medicaid, or without

The services above that a person can start on their own, by how they can be paid.

Publish a price without insurance (33)

Questions

Online insomnia treatment, answered

Can you get CBT for insomnia (CBT-I) online?
Yes. 14 online services here say they give cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia: Lemonaid Health, Online-Therapy.com, Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Cerebral, LifeStance Health, SonderMind, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Wellnite, Calmerry, Klarity Health, Zencare and Learn to Live. The American College of Physicians recommends that all adults with chronic insomnia disorder receive cognitive behavioral therapy for insomnia (CBT-I) as the initial treatment.
Is there free CBT-I online?
Yes: Path to Better Sleep: SleepEZ (VA Veteran Training). The VA's sleep apps and a directory of clinicians who give CBT-I are listed below too, each with who can use it, from its own page.
Can you get Ambien prescribed online?
24 online services here say they do not prescribe Ambien, other Z-drugs or controlled substances: Lemonaid Health, Amwell, Cerebral, Talkspace, Wellnite, Affect, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Charlie Health, Doctor On Demand, Headspace Care, Headway, MDLIVE, Meru Health, Mindful Care, Monument, PlushCare, Spring Health, Teladoc Health (Mental Health), GoodRx Care, QuickMD, Sesame, Included Health and Modern Health. 2 name Z-drugs among the sleep medicines they prescribe: Talkiatry and Klarity Health. The DEA and the Department of Health and Human Services extended the telemedicine flexibilities for prescribing controlled medications through December 31, 2026. Under the extended flexibilities, the DEA says DEA-registered practitioners may remotely prescribe Schedule II to V controlled medications by audio-video telemedicine visit. The Ryan Haight Act generally requires that controlled substances dispensed by means of the internet be based on a valid prescription involving at least one in-person medical evaluation.
Which online services prescribe sleep medication?
26 services here say their prescribers treat insomnia with medication: Lemonaid Health, Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Cerebral, LifeStance Health, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Wellnite, Klarity Health, Affect, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Doctor On Demand, Headway, MDLIVE, Meru Health, Mindful Care, Ophelia, PlushCare, Spring Health, Teladoc Health (Mental Health), Thriveworks, Workit Health, QuickMD, Sesame and Included Health. Medicines named: Trazodone (10), Low-dose doxepin (Silenor) (5), Orexin blockers (Belsomra, Dayvigo, Quviviq) (2), Ramelteon (Rozerem) (6), Z-drugs (Ambien, Lunesta) (2) and Other medicines (7).
Does Talkspace treat insomnia?
Talkspace says its licensed therapists and psychiatrists provide online insomnia treatment, and its insomnia page has a section on therapy for teens. Talkspace's insomnia page lists trazodone, hydroxyzine, doxepin (Silenor), gabapentin and ramelteon (Rozerem) as sleep medication its psychiatric providers can prescribe; it does not prescribe controlled substances.
Does BetterHelp treat insomnia?
BetterHelp says its psychiatric providers, through its UpLift psychiatry service, may evaluate and treat sleep disorders, among other conditions. BetterHelp's psychiatry prescribes from a defined list of commonly prescribed medications and says controlled substances are not prescribed. No sleep medicine is named.
Does Cerebral treat insomnia?
Cerebral says the medications its prescribers offer are used to treat conditions such as anxiety, depression and insomnia. A Cerebral help center article says trazodone may be prescribed for insomnia as well as depression; Cerebral says it does not prescribe controlled substances.
Does insurance cover online insomnia treatment?
29 of the services here that treat insomnia bill insurance in network: Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Cerebral, LifeStance Health, SonderMind, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Wellnite, Affect, Array Behavioral Care, Bend Health, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Circle Medical, Doctor On Demand, Equip, Grow Therapy, Headway, Little Otter, MDLIVE, Meru Health, Mindful Care, NOCD, Ophelia, PlushCare, Spring Health, Teladoc Health (Mental Health), Thriveworks and Workit Health. What you pay depends on your plan.
Does CBT-I work online?
A 2016 meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials found internet-delivered CBT-I efficacious and a viable option in the treatment of insomnia. A 2016 meta-analysis of randomized trials concluded that internet-delivered cognitive behavioral therapy is effective in improving sleep in adults with insomnia. A 2020 meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials found that face-to-face CBT-I produced greater improvement on the Insomnia Severity Index than digital CBT-I.
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, pharmacy or insurer. What each service offers is its own statement on the dates shown and can change. Only a clinician can decide whether a sleep medicine is safe for you. If you are thinking about suicide or are in danger, call or text 988, or call 911.
Keep going

Compare deeper