PTSD and trauma

Online PTSD and trauma treatment: CPT, EMDR and medication

Which online services treat PTSD and trauma, which give a trauma-focused therapy (cognitive processing therapy, prolonged exposure, EMDR) and whether every clinician is trained in it, which prescribe medication for PTSD, and what each costs with insurance, with Medicaid or without, from their own pages. Every answer links to the page that states it.

PTSD facts checked ยท checked 3 d ago
21name CPT, PE or EMDR
3say every trauma clinician is trained
25prescribe for PTSD
94of 121 prices found on their own pages Nov 1, 2026

53 services compared here say on their own pages that they treat PTSD or trauma online. 47 give therapy for it and 21 of those name a trauma-focused therapy (cognitive processing therapy, prolonged exposure or EMDR), the therapies guidance puts first for PTSD; 3 say every clinician giving their trauma care is trained in it (Charlie Health, Nema Health and Within Health). 18 of the services that name one bill insurance in network, 7 name Medicaid. 25 say their clinicians prescribe medication for PTSD, most often naming SSRIs.

Trauma-focused therapy

47 services give therapy for PTSD or trauma

Every service here whose own pages name PTSD or trauma among what its therapists treat, grouped by what they say about trauma-focused therapy (cognitive processing therapy, prolonged exposure, EMDR, trauma-focused CBT, written exposure therapy): whether every clinician giving trauma care is trained in it, whether you choose one who specializes in trauma, whether one is named at all. General talk therapy is not trauma-focused therapy, so on a service that does not name one, ask for it by name.

Trauma-trained cliniciansSay every clinician giving trauma care is trained in it (3)

ServiceWhat its pages sayApproaches namedWith insurancePrice
Charlie HealthVisit site
Intensive outpatientAges 8-64
AdultsTeensChildren
Also prescribes
Gives trauma and PTSD treatment to kids, teens and adults through a virtual intensive outpatient program.

Every client is paired with a primary therapist who specializes in trauma.

A virtual intensive outpatient program for trauma with three group sessions, one individual therapy session and one family therapy session each week.

CBTDBTExposure therapyMindfulness-based

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: states where intensive outpatient care is covered

No dollar price is stated; its trauma page says most clients (60%) pay $0 out of pocket.
Nema HealthVisit site
Trauma & PTSD care
Adults
Also prescribes
Treats trauma, PTSD, complex PTSD and acute stress disorder in adults with intensive video therapy, peer support and optional medication management.

Its cognitive processing therapy is delivered by licensed clinicians trained in the model, with ongoing supervision and case consultation.

A three-phase PTSD program: a clinical evaluation, intensive CPT (most patients finish 12 sessions over 4 to 6 weeks), then an ongoing recovery phase called Rise.

Cognitive processing therapy (CPT)Prolonged exposure (PE)EMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network$275 per 50-minute therapy session and $400 for the 75-minute evaluation.
Within HealthVisit site
Eating-disorder careLimited availability
Adults
Its eating-disorder teams treat co-occurring conditions including trauma and PTSD, in adult care and in its remote PHP and IOP.

Its IOP page says its clinicians are hand-selected for specialized experience treating eating disorders and trauma.

Prolonged exposure (PE)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkNo self-pay price published

Choose a trauma specialistLet you choose a clinician who specializes in trauma (22)

ServiceWhat its pages sayApproaches namedWith insurancePrice
AlmaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not stated
Lists therapists who treat trauma and PTSD, searchable by insurance, format and openings.

Members can filter its directory for therapists who treat trauma and PTSD.

Cognitive processing therapy (CPT)EMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkNo self-pay price published
Anywhere ClinicVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Psychiatric PTSD care by video: evaluation, diagnosis, treatment planning and medication management, with coordination or referral to a trauma-focused therapist.

Its talk therapy page lists licensed clinical psychologists specializing in trauma, anxiety and depression.

Trauma-focused CBTEMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state: in network in 13 states and D.C. on its state pages; not Medi-Cal or Illinois Medicaid

$150 self-pay for new and follow-up visits.
BetterHelpVisit site
Subscription therapy

FTC order: $7.8 million over sharing health data for advertising

Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its licensed mental health professionals can help people with PTSD from home by phone, video or live chat sessions.

Its FAQ says it has therapists who specialize in specific issues, trauma among them.

CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network$70 to $100 per week for therapy without insurance (subscription pricing).
BrightlineVisit site
Pediatric care
TeensChildren
Its therapists treat trauma in kids and teens, matching the diagnosis to an evidence-based approach, with trauma-focused CBT for symptoms after a traumatic event.

Some Brightline clinicians list trauma-focused therapy (TF-CBT) as their expertise, and each child is matched with the clinician whose training and focus fit the child's needs.

Trauma-focused CBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkSelf-pay therapy is typically $350 for an initial session, then $200 to $275 per ongoing session.
CerebralVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry

FTC order: health data shared for advertising and hard-to-cancel subscriptions, about $7 million

Justice Department and DEA: non-prosecution agreement over controlled-substance prescribing, $3.65 million forfeited

New York Attorney General settlement: more than $740,000 over cancellation practices

Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its Conditions Cerebral Treats page lists PTSD as treated with therapy and medication.

Its therapist directory for Texas lists therapists specializing in Trauma and Abuse.

EMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkTherapy is $150 per session, charged when booked.
Daybreak HealthVisit site
Pediatric careLimited availability
TeensChildren
Its therapists work with kids and teens on challenges including trauma, through online therapy sessions.

Its clinicians specialize across 26 mental health conditions and are matched to each student; some clinician profiles list trauma among their specialties.

CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Takes Medicaid

No fixed price: cost follows the family's insurance cost-sharing, and in many cases school-district partnerships make sessions free to families.
Doctor On DemandVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its therapists and psychiatrists treat PTSD and trauma by video, and members can choose therapists whose specialties include trauma and PTSD.

Members can choose from therapists with different backgrounds and specialties, including trauma and PTSD.

CBTEMDR

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some Medicaid managed-care plans

Without insurance, therapy visits start at $134 and psychiatry visits at $299.
Grow TherapyVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not stated
Offers insurance-covered therapy for trauma and PTSD with clinicians who list them as specialties.

Members can filter for therapists who list trauma, PTSD and related modalities as specialties.

Not namedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: most states, plan by plan

Therapy sessions average about $21 with insurance coverage, depending on the plan.
HeadwayVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Offers insurance-covered trauma and PTSD care from therapists and psychiatrists who list trauma and PTSD as specialties.

Members can find therapists or psychiatrists with experience treating trauma and PTSD.

Exposure therapyEMDRCognitive processing therapy (CPT)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: select Medicaid managed care plans in some states

People with insurance pay as low as $0 per session, depending on location, age and coverage.
NOCDVisit site
OCD therapy
Adults
Its therapists treat PTSD that occurs together with OCD, using prolonged exposure (PE) for PTSD alongside ERP for OCD.

All its therapists are trained in ERP for OCD and many are also trained in prolonged exposure for PTSD, so a member with both can be matched with one.

Prolonged exposure (PE)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkStandard cash pay rate is $240 per session for its therapy; no separate PTSD price is stated.
OctaveVisit site
Insurance marketplace22 states + DC
Adults
Has a Trauma Center of Excellence, a group of licensed therapists with trauma-informed care training, for people who have experienced trauma.

Members can be matched with therapists in its Trauma Center of Excellence, who have 20+ hours of trauma-informed care training and 2+ years of experience with adults.

Not namedBills insurance in networkIndividual therapy is $170-250 per session out of pocket, and most clients pay $28 per session with in-network insurance.
Prosper HealthVisit site
Autism care
Adults
Its therapists help autistic adults with trauma and PTSD alongside autism and ADHD.

Some therapist profiles list Trauma + PTSD as a specialty next to autism.

Not namedBills insurance in networkSelf-pay therapy is $125 per session for autistic adults.
RulaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Offers insurance-covered PTSD therapy by video, phone or in person with therapists who list PTSD as a focus.

Rula matches members with in-network providers who list PTSD among their areas of focus.

EMDRCognitive processing therapy (CPT)Prolonged exposure (PE)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: managed Medicaid for select states and insurers; therapy only

With insurance, many patients pay $0 to $25 per session.
SonderMindVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Offers PTSD therapy online or in person with therapists who specialize in PTSD, and trauma-focused care for veterans.

Members can be matched with or request a provider who specializes in PTSD or has trauma-focused training.

CBTCognitive processing therapy (CPT)EMDRProlonged exposure (PE)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkWith insurance, many clients pay an average copay of around $25; self-pay rates vary by provider and location.
Spring HealthVisit site
Employer / EAP
Ages not stated
Its employer-sponsored network lists PTSD among conditions it treats, with in-network specialty care for high-acuity conditions.

Members can filter providers by specialty, including trauma.

CBTDBTEMDR

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in networkCost depends on how care is accessed; many employer benefits and health plans cover some or all therapy costs.
TalkspaceVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Teens
Also prescribes
Its providers offer online therapy and prescribed medication for PTSD, including trauma therapy tailored to teens.

For veterans, it matches members with therapists experienced in the issues veterans face.

EMDRCBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network$69/wk
ThriveworksVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Gives PTSD and trauma therapy.

Members can view providers who specialize in PTSD and search by insurance, credentials and education.

CBTProlonged exposure (PE)Cognitive processing therapy (CPT)EMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in networkSelf-pay therapy is $200 to $240 for an intake and $160 to $195 for follow-ups; psychiatry is $300 to $375 for an intake and $210 to $300 for follow-ups.
Two ChairsVisit site
Insurance marketplace27 states + DC
Ages not stated
Its clinicians treat PTSD among the diagnoses its provider page lists.

Some therapist profiles list Trauma and PTSD as a specialty, and one therapist is a certified EMDR clinician.

CBTEMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: Medi-Cal through Kaiser Northern California

Self-pay therapy is $260 for the first appointment and $226 per session after; psychiatry is $270 for the first and $245 per session after.
Open Path Psychotherapy CollectiveVisit site
Therapist directory
Ages not stated
Its therapist directory has a Trauma and PTSD specialty filter, and each independent therapist gives the care.

Members can filter the directory by a Trauma and PTSD specialty and by modalities such as EMDR and prolonged exposure.

Cognitive processing therapy (CPT)Prolonged exposure (PE)EMDRTrauma-focused CBTCBTDBTACTMindfulness-based

Named for all its care

Self-pay onlyThe per-session fee is $40-70 in the US.
PlushCareVisit site
Telehealth platform
Adults
Also prescribes
Its primary care doctors evaluate PTSD and can prescribe medication, and its licensed online therapists provide therapy.

Its New York therapist page lists a therapist who specializes in healing from traumatic experience and often treats PTSD.

CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance: doctor and psychiatry visits only; therapy is self-pay$169 per online therapy session without insurance.
ZencareVisit site
Therapist directory
Ages not stated
Its trauma specialty pages list vetted therapists and psychiatrists in each state who specialize in trauma, and each independent clinician gives the care.

Members can browse therapists and psychiatrists in a state who specialize in trauma.

Not namedDepends on the providerNo self-pay price published
Included Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its members page lists PTSD and trauma among the things its Doctor On Demand mental health practice helps with and treats.

Members can choose from therapists with different backgrounds and specialties, including trauma and PTSD.

CBTEMDR

Named for all its care

Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: through a sponsoring health plan

No self-pay price published

Trauma-focused therapy namedName CPT, prolonged exposure or EMDR, without saying every clinician gives it (4)

ServiceWhat its pages sayApproaches namedWith insurancePrice
AmwellVisit site
Telehealth platform
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its licensed therapists provide virtual counseling for PTSD and trauma.
CBTCognitive processing therapy (CPT)Prolonged exposure (PE)EMDR

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance: services covered vary by plan; some cover urgent care but not therapy~$142/session
LifeStance HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeensChildren
Also prescribes
Its psychologists and licensed therapists treat PTSD and trauma, and its psychiatrists prescribe medication for PTSD, in person and online.
EMDRCBTProlonged exposure (PE)Exposure therapyTrauma-focused CBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans; varies by state and provider

$210 to $432 per session
Little OtterVisit site
Youth & family22 states + DC
AdultsTeensChildren
Treats trauma and PTSD for parents, children and teens.
CBTTrauma-focused CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: Minnesota's Blue Plus Medical Assistance

Therapy is a $350 assessment then $200 per session; psychiatry is a $500 assessment then $250 per session.
Lyra Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Adults
Its clinical research page describes a blended care therapy program for PTSD symptoms studied in adults, and its FAQ lists PTSD among urgent needs its in-house support addresses.
Cognitive processing therapy (CPT)Prolonged exposure (PE)

Named for PTSD or trauma

Employer or plan benefit onlyCost depends on the employer's plan; many members get a set number of therapy or coaching sessions at no cost.

No trauma-focused therapy namedTreat PTSD or trauma, but name no trauma-focused therapy (18)

ServiceWhat its pages sayApproaches namedWith insurancePrice
AffectVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Treats PTSD with a trauma-informed approach, using virtual therapy, medication management and digital support tools in its app.

A trauma-informed digital care program in its app that combines therapy, medication and 24/7 support tools; the page says treatment length varies with goals and symptoms.

CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: plans in 16 states; Florida and Texas plans closed to new members

No self-pay price published
Array Behavioral CareVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not stated
Its virtual therapists and psychiatrists treat a range of conditions that includes Trauma and PTSD.
CBTDBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: Medi-Cal in California only

Self-pay therapy sessions cost $60 (30 min), $75 (45 min) or $107.50 (60 min); the initial psychiatry evaluation costs $425.
Bend HealthVisit site
Pediatric care
TeensChildren
It lists Trauma/PTSD among the conditions its care supports for kids, teens and young adults.
CBTDBTACT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network$399.99 per month for the Coaching & Therapy plan (coaching alone is $199.99 per month).
Boulder CareVisit site
Addiction careLimited availability
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its clinicians can diagnose and treat PTSD, along with anxiety, depression and insomnia, when these occur together with a substance use disorder.Not namedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state

No self-pay price published
Brightside HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Also prescribes
Gives therapy and psychiatry for PTSD online, with 1:1 video sessions and messaging, plus pages for acute stress disorder and teen trauma.
CBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans in Oregon, North Carolina, Nebraska and Washington

Therapy is $299 per month for four video sessions and unlimited messaging (self-pay).
Eleanor HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Its licensed therapists treat PTSD, alongside depression, anxiety and other conditions, in virtual therapy and counseling sessions.
CBTDBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: stated as accepted in 7 states (FL, MA, NC, NJ, NV, OH, PA)

No self-pay price published
EquipVisit site
Eating-disorder care
Ages not stated
Its eating-disorder care teams include therapists who can provide trauma-informed care for patients who also have trauma.
CBTDBTExposure therapy

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some states

No self-pay price published
Headspace CareVisit site
Employer / EAP
Adults
It gives individual video therapy to adults, and its therapist network includes therapists trained in treating trauma.
CBTACTDBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: select managed Medicaid plans only

Therapy sessions cost $149 out of pocket, or $0-$35 per session for most members using insurance.
MDLIVEVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not stated
Its licensed therapists commonly care for patients who suffer from trauma, though no page names PTSD.
CBTMindfulness-based

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: through participating plans

Therapy costs $0-179 for an initial visit, depending on insurance.
MonumentVisit site
Addiction careLimited availability

FTC and Justice Department court order: ban on sharing health data for advertising, $2.5 million penalty suspended

Ages not stated
Its licensed therapists list PTSD among the mental health areas they specialize in.Not namedBills insurance in network$25 per video appointment with insurance; $100 per session self-pay.
OpheliaVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not stated
Builds a treatment plan for people dealing with both PTSD and addiction.Not namedBills insurance in network

Takes Medicaid

No self-pay price published
Ria HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not stated
Its coaches and counselors work with people who have trauma together with alcohol use disorder; the treatment itself is for alcohol use disorder.
CBT

Named for all its care

Bills insurance in network$175 to $449 per month
WellniteVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not stated
Its PTSD page lets members find therapists who can help with PTSD.Not namedBills insurance in networkOut-of-pocket individual therapy session costs $75 and a couples session $135.
CalmerryVisit site
Subscription therapy
Ages not stated
Offers online counseling by text and video with therapists whose listed areas include trauma and PTSD.
CBTDBT

Named for all its care

Out of network onlyPlans start at $57 per week for messaging and reach $90 per week with four live video sessions, billed monthly.
Online-Therapy.comVisit site
Subscription therapy
Ages not stated
Offers a CBT-based online therapy program with a therapist that includes tools and exercises for post-traumatic stress symptoms.
CBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Out of network only$60/wk ($48/wk for the first month with its 20% discount), billed monthly
SesameVisit site
Cash marketplace
Ages not statedAlso prescribes
Offers video visits with a licensed provider who assesses PTSD and discusses treatment, which may include therapy and medication.Not namedOut of network onlyVisit prices are set by each provider and shown before booking; Mental Health Rx is $79 per month.
Learn to Live
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Ages not stated
Its Trauma program gives self-paced digital lessons that address mild to intense consequences of trauma; its terms say the service is not designed to treat clinical levels of trauma.

Its Trauma program is a set of self-paced digital lessons.

CBT

Named for PTSD or trauma

Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: free through a sponsoring plan

$149 per program subscription for individuals without an employer, plan or school code.
Modern Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Ages not stated
Its therapy service offers professional counseling for challenges including trauma, as an employer or health plan benefit.
CBTACTDBT

Named for all its care

Employer or plan benefit onlyNo self-pay price published

Read from each service's own pages on Oct 30, 2026. 27 of these give therapy without prescribing. By approach: CBT 28, Exposure therapy 4, ACT 4, DBT 10, EMDR 16, Mindfulness-based 3, Cognitive processing therapy (CPT) 9, Prolonged exposure (PE) 10, Trauma-focused CBT 5. A service that names an approach does not promise every therapist on it uses it, unless its pages say so. Prices are stated per session, per month or per plan, as each source states them.

Medication

25 services prescribe PTSD medication online

Every service here whose own pages say its clinicians prescribe medication for PTSD. The medicines shown are the ones its pages name for PTSD; a service that names none still prescribes when its clinicians judge it appropriate. A prescription always follows a clinician's evaluation, never a purchase.

ServicePTSD medicationInsurancePrice
AffectVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not stated
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: plans in 16 states; Florida and Texas plans closed to new members

No price published
AmwellVisit site
Telehealth platform
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance: services covered vary by plan; some cover urgent care but not therapyWithout insurance: $292 initial / $109-$169 follow-up
Anywhere ClinicVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state: in network in 13 states and D.C. on its state pages; not Medi-Cal or Illinois Medicaid

$150 self-pay for new and follow-up visits.
BetterHelpVisit site
Subscription therapy

FTC order: $7.8 million over sharing health data for advertising

Ages not stated
Bills insurance in network$70 to $100 per week for therapy without insurance (subscription pricing).
Boulder CareVisit site
Addiction careLimited availability
Ages not stated
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state

No price published
Brightside HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans in Oregon, North Carolina, Nebraska and Washington

Therapy is $299 per month for four video sessions and unlimited messaging (self-pay).
CerebralVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry

FTC order: health data shared for advertising and hard-to-cancel subscriptions, about $7 million

Justice Department and DEA: non-prosecution agreement over controlled-substance prescribing, $3.65 million forfeited

New York Attorney General settlement: more than $740,000 over cancellation practices

Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in networkTherapy is $150 per session, charged when booked.
Charlie HealthVisit site
Intensive outpatientAges 8-64
AdultsTeensChildren
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: states where intensive outpatient care is covered

No dollar price is stated; its trauma page says most clients (60%) pay $0 out of pocket.
Doctor On DemandVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some Medicaid managed-care plans

Without insurance, therapy visits start at $134 and psychiatry visits at $299.
Eleanor HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Ages not stated
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: stated as accepted in 7 states (FL, MA, NC, NJ, NV, OH, PA)

Without insurance: $249 per month
HeadwayVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: select Medicaid managed care plans in some states

People with insurance pay as low as $0 per session, depending on location, age and coverage.
LifeStance HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeensChildren
Names trauma therapy
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans; varies by state and provider

Without insurance: $201 to $445 per session
Mindful CareVisit site
Psychiatry9 states
Ages not stated
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid managed plans; vary by state

Self-pay therapy is a $150 initial evaluation, then $100 for a 40-minute individual session or $50 for a 20-minute one.
Nema HealthVisit site
Trauma & PTSD care
Adults
Names trauma therapy
Bills insurance in network$275 per 50-minute therapy session and $400 for the 75-minute evaluation.
RulaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in networkWith insurance, many patients pay $0 to $25 per session.
SonderMindVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in networkWith insurance, many clients pay an average copay of around $25; self-pay rates vary by provider and location.
TalkiatryVisit site
Psychiatry
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy

Its psychiatrists prescribe medication for PTSD.

SSRIsSNRIs (venlafaxine)Prazosin (for nightmares)
Bills insurance in networkMost psychiatry visits cost patients $30 or less after insurance, depending on the plan.
TalkspaceVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Teens
Names trauma therapy
Bills insurance in networkWithout insurance: $299 eval / $175 follow-up
ThriveworksVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Bills insurance in networkSelf-pay therapy is $200 to $240 for an intake and $160 to $195 for follow-ups; psychiatry is $300 to $375 for an intake and $210 to $300 for follow-ups.
JoyousVisit site
Ketamine therapy
Ages not stated
Self-pay onlyKetamine subscription from $129 per month with a three-month commitment, or $159 per month with no commitment.
Klarity HealthVisit site
Psychiatry50 states
Ages not stated
Depends on the providerPTSD care starts at $85 per its PTSD comparison table; each provider sets its own price.
MindbloomVisit site
Ketamine therapy
Adults
Out of network onlyIts ketamine program, which includes the PTSD program, costs $1,290 for 6 sessions for new clients ($215 per session).
PlushCareVisit site
Telehealth platform
Adults
Bills insurance: doctor and psychiatry visits only; therapy is self-pay$169 per online therapy session without insurance.
SesameVisit site
Cash marketplace
Ages not stated
Out of network onlyVisit prices are set by each provider and shown before booking; Mental Health Rx is $79 per month.
Included Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Ages not statedNames trauma therapy
Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: through a sponsoring health plan

No price published

Read from each service's own pages on Oct 30, 2026. Prices are stated per visit, per month or per plan, as each source states them, and the medicine is usually paid at the pharmacy on top. Of these, Affect, Anywhere Clinic, BetterHelp, Boulder Care, Brightside Health, Cerebral, Doctor On Demand, Eleanor Health, Headway, LifeStance Health, Mindful Care, Rula, SonderMind, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Thriveworks and PlushCare name Medicare.

The medicines

What the FDA has approved for PTSD

The PTSD medicines on their FDA labels, with what each label approves it for and the ages it states, what guidance says comes first, and what it says about the other medicines people ask about.

How many of the 25 prescribers above name each kind of medicine for PTSD: SSRIs 13, SNRIs (venlafaxine) 5, Prazosin (for nightmares) 7.

Intensive care

When weekly therapy is not enough

What each service here says on its own pages about more intensive PTSD or trauma care (an intensive trauma program, an intensive outpatient program, partial hospitalization, residential treatment, ketamine, TMS). A service that does not mention them is not listed.

Related conditions and ages

Kinds of trauma, and care for kids and teens

Which services' own pages name each kind of trauma or group they treat, and which say they treat PTSD or trauma in teens or children.

Complex PTSD (1)
Nema Health
Military and combat trauma (4)
Charlie Health, LifeStance Health, Nema Health, SonderMind
Sexual assault and abuse (2)
Nema Health, Open Path Psychotherapy Collective
Birth and perinatal trauma (1)
Nema Health
First responders (1)
Nema Health
Acute stress disorder (3)
Anywhere Clinic, Brightside Health, Nema Health
Every online service for teens and kids, with ages and consent
How you pay

Trauma-focused therapy with insurance, Medicaid, or without

The services above that name a trauma-focused therapy and that a person can start on their own, by how they can be paid. Each answer is the same reading the site's plan pages use.

Free help

Free support, and the lines that answer now

Free lines for a crisis, sexual assault and veterans, and free tools and guidance for PTSD. Each entry is verified on its own official page.

PTSD Treatment Decision AidNationalOfficial guidance

The VA National Center for PTSD's Treatment Decision Aid explains effective PTSD treatment options and lets you compare them.

Who
Anyone weighing PTSD treatment options, including people who are not veterans
What it gives
Plain-language descriptions and videos for CPT, EMDR, PE, Present-Centered Therapy, Written Exposure Therapy and SSRI/SNRI medicines, a comparison chart and ideas for talking with your medical team
How to start
Open the decision aid at ptsd.va.gov/apps/decisionaid and read about each treatment, then build a comparison chart
National Center for PTSD: Find a ProviderNationalFree directory

The National Center for PTSD's Find a Provider page links to online locators for therapists, counselors and mental health professionals.

Who
Anyone looking for a PTSD therapist, counselor or prescriber; veterans have extra VA options on the page
What it gives
A list of locators for CPT, PE and EMDR therapists and for trauma specialists, plus tips on what to look for and what to ask about insurance and cost
How to start
Open the page and use the locator that fits the therapy you want; ask each provider about trauma experience and what insurance they accept
CPT Provider RosterNationalFree directory

The CPT Provider Roster lists mental health providers who have met rostering requirements and currently offer Cognitive Processing Therapy in a community setting.

Who
Anyone looking for a therapist who offers Cognitive Processing Therapy in the community
What it gives
A roster of mental health providers who met the requirements to be a CPT Provider or CPT Quality Provider, with state, city and contact information
How to start
Open the roster, filter by state or city, and contact a listed provider
Find a Certified PE Therapist (Penn CTSA)NationalFree directory

The University of Pennsylvania's Center for the Treatment and Study of Anxiety lists its certified Prolonged Exposure therapists by state and country.

Who
Anyone looking for a therapist certified in Prolonged Exposure
What it gives
A directory of CTSA Certified PE Therapists by state and country
How to start
Open the directory on the Penn Center for the Treatment and Study of Anxiety site and pick your state
Find an EMDR Therapist (EMDRIA)NationalFree directory

The EMDR International Association's directory helps people find its members who provide EMDR therapy near them.

Who
Anyone looking for a therapist who provides EMDR
What it gives
A searchable directory of EMDR International Association members providing EMDR therapy, with searches by location, name and other criteria
How to start
Search the directory by location; for emergencies, call 988
ISTSS Trauma Specialist DirectoryNationalFree directory

The International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies runs a directory for finding a clinician, counselor or mental health professional in your area.

Who
Anyone looking for a clinician, counselor or mental health professional who works with trauma
What it gives
A directory searchable by discipline or specialty, special interests, populations served and languages spoken; ISTSS does not make specific referrals
How to start
Open the directory and search your local area
National Child Traumatic Stress Network: Get Help NowNationalFree directory

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network's Get Help Now page points families to its member centers for a referral.

Who
Families looking for help for a child who has been through trauma
What it gives
A list of crisis hotlines by topic and a list of NCTSN-affiliated centers by state for referrals; the Network says it cannot answer questions about personal situations
How to start
Open the Get Help Now page and use the list of NCTSN-affiliated centers by state
988 Suicide & Crisis LifelineNationalCrisis line

The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline is free, confidential and available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

Who
Anyone
What it gives
Crisis counseling by call, text or chat (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org
Crisis Text LineNationalCrisis line

Crisis Text Line offers free, confidential support 24 hours a day to anyone facing mental health challenges.

Who
Anyone
What it gives
Text support from trained volunteer crisis counselors (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Text HOME to 741741
SAMHSA's National HelplineNationalHelpline

SAMHSA's National Helpline is a free, confidential, 24/7 treatment referral and information service; callers without insurance are referred to state-funded programs, often ones that charge on a sliding fee scale.

Who
Anyone facing a substance use or mental disorder, and their families
What it gives
Treatment referral and information, 24/7, in English and Spanish (not counseling)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 1-800-662-HELP (4357), TTY 1-800-487-4889, or text your ZIP code to 435748
Veterans Crisis LineNationalCrisis line

The Veterans Crisis Line is free, confidential and available 24/7, and Veterans do not need to be enrolled in VA benefits or health care to use it.

Who
Veterans, service members, Guard and Reserve members and those who support them, enrolled in VA care or not
What it gives
Crisis counseling by call, chat or text (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Dial 988 then press 1, chat online, or text 838255
NAMI HelpLineNationalHelpline

The NAMI HelpLine is a free, confidential service offering emotional support, information and resources by phone or text on weekdays; it is not a crisis line, and in a crisis NAMI points to 988.

Who
Anyone, for themselves, family or friends
What it gives
Emotional support, mental health information and resources from trained staff (not a crisis line, not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 1-800-950-NAMI (6264) or text NAMI to 62640, Monday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET
VA Vet CentersNational (300 community Vet Centers)Military and veterans

Eligible service members, veterans and family members can get free individual and group counseling at a Vet Center.

Who
Eligible veterans and service members, National Guard and Reserve included, and their families; VA health care enrollment is not required
What it gives
Individual and group counseling in a non-medical setting; many Vet Centers also offer phone or video appointments
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 877-927-8387 (24/7) or walk in to a Vet Center during clinic hours

Check first: Eligibility depends on service, such as service in a combat theater or military sexual trauma, so check whether you qualify.

PTSD Coach and PTSD Coach OnlineNational (app and website)Military and veterans

PTSD Coach, from VA's National Center for PTSD, is a free app that helps you learn about and manage symptoms after a trauma, and PTSD Coach Online is a desktop version with video coaches.

Who
Anyone who wants to learn about and manage symptoms after a trauma. Family and friends can also learn about PTSD and coping from the app.
What it gives
A self-help app and a desktop version with 17 tools, guided by video coaches, for sleep, trauma reminders, anger and other symptoms, plus symptom tracking and direct links to support. No clinician is involved.
Cost
Free
How to start
Download PTSD Coach for iOS or Android, or use PTSD Coach Online on a computer.

Check first: PTSD Coach is not meant to replace professional care.

Vets4WarriorsNational (24/7 by phone, chat, text and email)Peer support

Vets4Warriors provides live, free, confidential, 24/7 peer support to active-duty or transitioning service members, veterans and their families.

Who
Active service members, National Guard members, reservists, veterans, and their families or caregivers. It operates independently of the VA and the U.S. military.
What it gives
Live, confidential peer support from trained veterans and military family members (not trained counselors), who listen, connect you to resources and follow up on every call until an issue is resolved. Peers respond by phone, email, chat or text.
Cost
Free (its mission is to provide live, free, confidential, 24/7 peer support)
How to start
Call 855-838-8255, 24/7, or use Talk to Us on vets4warriors.com to call, request a call, chat or email.

Check first: Peers are trained in peer support, not trained counselors, so this is not therapy.

RAINN National Sexual Assault HotlineNationalHelpline

RAINN's National Sexual Assault Hotline connects people 24/7 with a live person trained to help after sexual assault or abuse.

Who
Anyone who has been sexually assaulted or abused, or a person who loves someone who has
What it gives
Confidential support from a trained specialist, resources for healing, referrals for long-term support in your area and information about the laws in your state
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 800.656.HOPE (4673), chat online, or text HOPE to 64673
Primary Care PTSD Screen (PC-PTSD-5) self-screenNationalFree screener

The National Center for PTSD posts a short PTSD self-screen and says only a mental health provider can say for sure whether you have PTSD.

Who
Anyone who has been through a frightening, horrible or traumatic event and wonders whether they have PTSD
What it gives
A five-question self-screen on the National Center for PTSD page to help you decide whether to be assessed further, which you can share with a doctor
How to start
Read the questions on the Do I Have PTSD? page and answer yes or no for the past month; 3 or more yes answers suggest you may have PTSD and should see a provider
National Domestic Violence HotlineNationalHelpline

The National Domestic Violence Hotline offers free, confidential support around the clock to people experiencing relationship abuse.

Who
People experiencing relationship abuse, and concerned friends and family members
What it gives
Support and resources from trained advocates by phone, chat or text
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 1.800.799.SAFE (7233), chat live on thehotline.org, or text START to 88788
Childhelp National Child Abuse HotlineNationalHelpline

The Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline is a safe, nonjudgmental space for anyone concerned about or affected by child abuse.

Who
Anyone concerned about or affected by child abuse, including adults who were abused as children
What it gives
A safe, nonjudgmental conversation with a counselor by call, text or chat; it is not a reporting line and is not connected to 911
How to start
Call (800) 422-4453, text GO to 800.422.4453, or use the live chat on the site
Disaster Distress HelplineNationalCrisis line

The Disaster Distress Helpline is a toll-free, multilingual crisis support service open 24/7 for people in distress after disasters.

Who
Residents of the US and its territories who are in emotional distress related to natural or human-caused disasters
What it gives
Crisis counseling, information on recognizing distress, referrals to local crisis call centers and healthy coping tips
Cost
Toll-free
How to start
Call or text 1-800-985-5990
1in6 Online Support GroupsNationalPeer support

1in6 offers free, counselor-facilitated, text-based peer support groups for men age 18 and older who have experienced sexual abuse or assault.

Who
Men age 18 and older who have experienced sexual abuse or assault
What it gives
Weekly, text-based, counselor-facilitated peer support groups of up to 10 people, anonymous and with no audio or video; the page says this is peer support, not therapy or a crisis service
Cost
Free (cost-free)
How to start
Pick a group time on 1in6.org/support-group-chat, choose an anonymous display name and start typing
DoD Safe HelplineNationalHelpline

DoD Safe Helpline is a secure, confidential and anonymous crisis support service for members of the Department of War community affected by sexual assault.

Who
Members of the Department of War (Department of Defense) community and their loved ones affected by sexual assault
What it gives
Secure, confidential, anonymous crisis support specially designed for sexual assault survivors in the military community
How to start
Call 877-995-5247 or use the online or app helpline at safehelpline.org
Trauma Recovery Network (EMDR HAP)Local associations listed by stateNonprofit care

Local volunteer groups of EMDR-trained therapists, listed by state, that are required to provide six to ten pro bono EMDR therapy sessions to TRN clients.

Who
People affected by trauma near a local Trauma Recovery Network association
What it gives
Pro bono EMDR therapy sessions from volunteer EMDR-trained therapists in local associations
Cost
Free (pro bono sessions)

About PTSD and online care

Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) can develop after experiencing or witnessing a traumatic event and involves intrusive memories or flashbacks, avoidance of reminders, negative shifts in mood and thinking, and heightened arousal that last more than a month.

How online care helps

Trauma-focused therapies are effective and can be delivered by video, so online therapy is a reasonable option for many people with PTSD, ideally with a clinician trained in a specific trauma protocol. Complex trauma, active suicidality, significant dissociation, or co-occurring substance use may need higher-acuity or in-person care; in an emergency call or text 988 or call 911.

Approaches with evidence

  • Cognitive processing therapy (CPT) an APA strongly-recommended trauma therapy that targets the unhelpful beliefs that develop after the trauma
  • Prolonged exposure (PE) APA strongly-recommended, involving gradual, guided processing of trauma memories and avoided reminders
  • Trauma-focused CBT a strongly-recommended CBT variation adapted to process the traumatic experience
  • EMDR eye movement desensitization and reprocessing, conditionally recommended and widely used for PTSD

What to look for

  • Ask whether therapists are trained in a specific trauma protocol (CPT, PE, trauma-focused CBT, or EMDR), not just general counseling.
  • Check for psychiatry or medication support, since an SSRI is sometimes used alongside trauma therapy.
  • Confirm how the service handles crises, dissociation, or symptom spikes that can occur during trauma processing.
  • Verify insurance or session cost, since trauma-focused courses typically run roughly 8 to 15 sessions or more.

Sources

Questions

Online PTSD treatment, answered

Can you get trauma-focused therapy for PTSD online?
Yes. 21 services here name a trauma-focused therapy (cognitive processing therapy, prolonged exposure, EMDR, trauma-focused CBT or written exposure therapy) among the therapy they give by video. 3 say every clinician giving their trauma care is trained in it: Charlie Health, Nema Health and Within Health. 22 let you choose a clinician who specializes in trauma. On the others, ask for CPT, prolonged exposure or EMDR by name when you are matched. The VA/DoD guideline recommends three individual, manualized trauma-focused psychotherapies for PTSD: Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT), Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) and Prolonged Exposure (PE).
Which online PTSD therapy takes insurance?
18 services here that name a trauma-focused therapy bill insurance in network: Alma, Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Brightline, Cerebral, Doctor On Demand, Headway, LifeStance Health, Little Otter, Nema Health, NOCD, Rula, SonderMind, Spring Health, Talkspace, Thriveworks, Two Chairs and Within Health. 7 of them name Medicaid: Anywhere Clinic, Doctor On Demand, Headway, LifeStance Health, Little Otter, Rula and Two Chairs. What you pay depends on your plan's copay or deductible; each service's page and your insurer confirm it.
Does Nema Health take insurance, and what does it cost without it?
Yes: Nema Health's own pages say it bills insurance in network. Its pages do not name Medicaid as accepted. Without insurance: $275 per 50-minute therapy session and $400 for the 75-minute evaluation. Its service page lists the plans it names, with the page that states each one.
Can you get PTSD medication online?
Yes. 25 services here say on their own pages that their clinicians prescribe medication for PTSD by telehealth, after an evaluation and only when they judge it appropriate. By name: SSRIs (13), SNRIs (venlafaxine) (5), Prazosin (for nightmares) (7). The medicines approved for PTSD are not controlled substances, so the federal limits on prescribing controlled substances by telehealth do not apply to them. The National Center for PTSD says a person taking an SSRI or SNRI for PTSD may start to feel better in about 4 to 6 weeks, and needs to keep taking it to keep the benefits.
Which medicines are FDA-approved for PTSD?
sertraline (Zoloft) and paroxetine (Paxil). Sertraline: PTSD, shown in adult outpatients; the label says safety and effectiveness are not established in children and teens for any use other than OCD (and major depressive disorder, OCD, panic disorder, social anxiety disorder and PMDD). Paroxetine: PTSD in adults only; not approved for children or teens (and major depressive disorder, OCD, panic disorder, social anxiety disorder and generalized anxiety disorder). Which one fits is a prescriber's decision.
How much does online PTSD therapy cost without insurance?
Prices are stated in different units, so compare them on each service's page. Among the services that name a trauma-focused therapy and publish a price without insurance: Amwell: ~$142/session; Anywhere Clinic: $150 evaluation; Brightline: $350 initial session, then $200 to $275 per ongoing session; Cerebral: $150 per session; Doctor On Demand: $134 for a 25-minute visit, $184 for a 50-minute visit; LifeStance Health: $210 to $432 per session; Little Otter: $200/session; Nema Health: $275; NOCD: $120 (30 min), $180 (45 min), $240 (60 min) per session; Rula: $150/session; SonderMind: $100 to $250 per session; Talkspace: $69/wk; Thriveworks: $200-$240 intake / $160-$195 follow-up; Two Chairs: $226/session; Open Path Psychotherapy Collective: $40 to $70 per individual session.
Is there online trauma therapy for kids and teens?
8 services here say on their own pages that they treat PTSD or trauma in teens or children: Bend Health, Brightline, Brightside Health, Charlie Health, Daybreak Health, LifeStance Health, Little Otter and Talkspace. The Zoloft label carries the antidepressant boxed warning: antidepressants increased the risk of suicidal thoughts and behavior in pediatric and young adult patients in short-term studies. A parent or guardian usually has to consent; the teens and kids page lists each service's ages and consent rules.
Does trauma therapy work by video?
The VA/DoD guideline recommends secure video teleconferencing to deliver CPT, EMDR and PE when that therapy has been validated for video or when other options are unavailable. A 2017 randomized trial of 132 veterans with PTSD found Prolonged Exposure delivered by home-based telehealth was non-inferior to in-person Prolonged Exposure at reducing PTSD scores after treatment and at 3 and 6 months. A 2015 randomized noninferiority trial of 126 women with PTSD (21 veterans, 105 civilians) found Cognitive Processing Therapy by video produced outcomes comparable to in-person treatment.
What if weekly therapy is not enough for PTSD?
9 services here say they give more intensive trauma care: Anywhere Clinic: Its trauma recovery page lists off-label ketamine, offered only when clinically appropriate; Brightside Health: Its online intensive outpatient program lists PTSD among the conditions it relieves, and is available in select states; Charlie Health: Its trauma care is a virtual intensive outpatient program delivered from home; Eleanor Health: Its intensive outpatient program is designed for trauma, with more structure than weekly sessions; many expanded care services are available through virtual care, depending on location and plan; LifeStance Health: Its in-person TMS treatment is used for secondary conditions including PTSD, and it is not an online service; Nema Health: Its intensive phase moves patients to an accelerated CPT schedule with multiple sessions per week; Within Health: Its fully remote enhanced PHP and IOP both list PTSD and trauma among the co-occurring conditions they treat with an eating disorder; Joyous: It offers low-dose ketamine as a potential off-label treatment for PTSD and trauma; Mindbloom: Its PTSD program is built on 6, 12 or 18 at-home ketamine sessions over several weeks.
What about prazosin, benzodiazepines or MDMA for PTSD?
The National Center for PTSD lists venlafaxine (Effexor), an SNRI, with sertraline and paroxetine as the three antidepressants recommended for PTSD. The VA/DoD guideline suggests prazosin to treat nightmares that go with PTSD. The VA/DoD guideline recommends against benzodiazepines for the treatment of PTSD. The VA/DoD guideline says there is insufficient evidence to recommend for or against MDMA-assisted psychotherapy for PTSD.
How do I know whether a therapist gives trauma-focused therapy?
The National Center for PTSD says to try to find a provider who focuses on evidence-based medications for PTSD or effective talk therapy for PTSD, such as CPT, PE or EMDR. The National Center for PTSD says to make sure the provider has experience treating people who have been through a trauma.
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, pharmacy, insurer or legal adviser. What each service offers, its prices and prescribing policies are its own statements on the dates shown and can change. Only a qualified clinician can diagnose PTSD or decide whether a medication is appropriate; never stop or change a medication without your prescriber. If someone is in danger or thinking about suicide, call or text 988, or call 911.
Keep going

Compare deeper