Bipolar disorder

Online bipolar disorder treatment: who treats it, who does not, and medication

Many online therapy services do not treat bipolar disorder, and say so. Here is which do and which do not, which prescribe medication for it and which medicines they name, what each says about blood tests, and what it costs with insurance or without, from each service's own pages.

Bipolar facts checked ยท checked 3 d ago
31say they treat it
26prescribe for it
5say they do not treat it

31 services compared here say on their own pages that they treat bipolar disorder online, and 26 of them prescribe medication for it (lithium named by 11, mood stabilizers named by 16, antipsychotics named by 12). 5 say they do not treat it, so check before you pay. Bipolar treatment is led by a prescriber, usually with therapy alongside. In a crisis, call or text 988.

Who treats it

31 services say they treat bipolar disorder

Prescribers first. What each service's own pages say about its bipolar care, the medicines it names, lab work, insurance for psychiatric care, and the price.

ServiceWhat its pages sayMedicationInsurancePrice
AffectVisit site
Addiction care
Affect says it specializes in helping people understand and manage bipolar disorder, with therapy and psychiatry in one app.Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: plans in 16 states; Florida and Texas plans closed to new members

Affect says its mental health and addiction care is covered by insurance and that treatment is entirely free for 90% of its members.
AmwellVisit site
Telehealth platform
Adults
Amwell's online psychiatrists provide care and ongoing medication management for bipolar disorder, for patients 18 and older.
CBTPsychoeducation
Bills insurance: services covered vary by plan; some cover urgent care but not therapy$292 initial / $109-$169 follow-up
Anywhere ClinicVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Bipolar IBipolar IICyclothymia
Anywhere Clinic provides bipolar disorder treatment through telehealth psychiatry: evaluation, diagnosis, medication management when appropriate and follow-up.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)Family-focused therapyPsychoeducation
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: varies by state: in network in 13 states and D.C. on its state pages; not Medi-Cal or Illinois Medicaid

Self-pay is $150 for new and follow-up psychiatry visits; insurance is accepted.
Array Behavioral CareVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Its care-options guide says its psychiatrists can help manage conditions like schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and severe depression.
CBTDBT
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: Medi-Cal in California only

Self-pay psychiatry is $425 for the initial evaluation and $115 to $225 per medication management follow-up, depending on complexity.
BetterHelpVisit site
Subscription therapy

FTC order: $7.8 million over sharing health data for advertising

Adults
BetterHelp says it can match members with a licensed therapist who has experience helping people who live with bipolar disorder.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)Psychoeducation
Bills insurance in networkBetterHelp therapy typically costs $70 to $100 per week.
Brightside HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsBipolar IBipolar II
Brightside mainly treats bipolar II and can treat stable bipolar I without acute mania; some cases of bipolar I or acute mania are not a fit for its online care.
CBT
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans in Oregon, North Carolina, Nebraska and Washington

$95/mo
CerebralVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry

FTC order: health data shared for advertising and hard-to-cancel subscriptions, about $7 million

Justice Department and DEA: non-prosecution agreement over controlled-substance prescribing, $3.65 million forfeited

New York Attorney General settlement: more than $740,000 over cancellation practices

Adults
Cerebral offers medication and therapy for bipolar disorder, and its list of conditions marks bipolar disorder as treated in certain states.
CBTDBTPsychodynamic
Bills insurance in networkTherapy is $150 per session; medication management is the Affordable Meds plan at $180 every 3 months.
Charlie HealthVisit site
Intensive outpatientAges 8-64
AdultsTeens
Charlie Health says it treats mood disorders including bipolar disorder in teens and adults through its virtual intensive outpatient program.
DBT

Charlie Health offers a virtual intensive outpatient program for people with complex conditions including bipolar disorder.

Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: states where intensive outpatient care is covered

No self-pay price published
Doctor On DemandVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Doctor On Demand lists bipolar disorder (mild to moderate) among conditions its mental health clinicians treat.
CBTPsychodynamicDBT
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some Medicaid managed-care plans

Without insurance, psychiatry visits start at $299 for the initial 45-minute visit and $129 for 15-minute follow-ups.
Eleanor HealthVisit site
Addiction care
Eleanor Health lists medicines for bipolar disorder among those its providers prescribe for co-occurring mental health conditions.Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: stated as accepted in 7 states (FL, MA, NC, NJ, NV, OH, PA)

$249 per month
HeadwayVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Headway is an insurance marketplace where clinicians, including psychiatric prescribers, list bipolar disorder as a specialty; care depends on the clinician chosen.Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: select Medicaid managed care plans in some states

People with insurance pay as low as $0 per session through Headway; cost varies by location, age and plan.
LifeStance HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
LifeStance says it specializes in bipolar disorder treatment, with therapy and medication management in person and online, including for children under 12.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)Family-focused therapyPsychoeducation
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: some plans; varies by state and provider

Most copays are $22 to $36 with insurance, stated for LifeStance care in general rather than bipolar care.
MDLIVEVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
MDLIVE lists bipolar among conditions in its behavioral health scope, but lists psychiatric conditions needing intensive management, naming bipolar disorder, as care it does not provide.
CBTMindfulness-based
Bills insurance in network

Medicaid: through participating plans

Psychiatry visits are $0-299 for an initial visit and $0-159 for follow-ups, depending on insurance (not stated for bipolar specifically).
Meru HealthVisit site
Therapy + psychiatryLimited availability
Adults
Its launch post for the Advanced program names bipolar disorder among complex conditions its standard therapy program does not cover alone; Advanced is a psychiatry and therapy program for adults.
CBTMindfulness-based
Bills insurance in networkNo self-pay price published
Mindful CareVisit site
Psychiatry9 states
Mindful Care lists bipolar disorder among the conditions it treats and has a dedicated bipolar page with same-day care.Bills insurance in network

Medicaid managed plans; vary by state

Self-pay psychiatry costs $175 for a 40-minute initial evaluation and $125 for a 20-minute follow-up.
PlushCareVisit site
Telehealth platform
PlushCare says its primary care physicians can diagnose and treat some types of bipolar disorder, but it has no online psychiatrists and cannot treat all cases.
CBTFamily-focused therapy
Bills insurance: doctor and psychiatry visits only; therapy is self-payWithout insurance, an initial physician visit is $129 plus a $19.99 monthly membership (first month free); therapy is $169 per session.
RulaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Rula offers bipolar-focused therapy and lists bipolar disorder among the conditions its psychiatry providers treat.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)Family-focused therapy
Bills insurance in networkInsured patients typically pay about $15 per session; cash rates are $150 per therapy session, $225 for a psychiatry intake and $175 per psychiatry follow-up.
SonderMindVisit site
Insurance marketplace
SonderMind offers therapy and psychiatry for bipolar disorder through providers who specialize in mood disorders.
CBTDBTPsychoeducation
Bills insurance in networkInsured clients pay an average copay of around $25; self-pay rates vary by provider, session type and location.
Spring HealthVisit site
Employer / EAP
Spring Health lists bipolar spectrum disorders among the concerns its therapists support.
CBTDBT
Bills insurance in networkSpring Health is an employer or health plan benefit; members paying directly pay rates set by each provider.
TalkiatryVisit site
Psychiatry
Bipolar IBipolar IICyclothymia
Talkiatry psychiatrists treat bipolar disorder online with medication and therapy referrals, and may refer more severe episodes to in-person care.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)Psychoeducation
Bills insurance in networkMost visits cost patients $30 or less after insurance; the exact cost depends on the plan.
TalkspaceVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
AdultsTeens
Talkspace offers online therapy and psychiatry for bipolar disorder, including therapy for teens.
CBTDBT
Bills insurance in networkOut of pocket, a psychiatry first appointment is $299 and each follow-up (every three months) is $175.
ThriveworksVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Thriveworks offers bipolar disorder therapy and says it tailors therapeutic approaches to the severity of symptoms.
CBTDBT
Bills insurance in networkSelf-pay psychiatry costs $300 to $375 for the first session and $210 to $300 for follow-ups, depending on state.
WellniteVisit site
Therapy + psychiatry
Its bipolar disorder page lists psychiatric care and individual, couple, family and teen (13 and older) therapy for bipolar disorder.Bills insurance in networkOut-of-pocket initial therapy session is $75 individual or $135 couples (not stated for bipolar specifically).
Klarity HealthVisit site
Psychiatry50 states
Klarity Health says its marketplace connects patients with licensed providers who specialize in treating bipolar disorder.Depends on the providerInitial cash-pay visits typically start at $59 to $149, set by each provider; medication costs extra.
SesameVisit site
Cash marketplace
Sesame offers same-day video visits with independent providers to discuss bipolar disorder symptoms and treatment, including prescriptions.
CBT
Out of network onlyMental Health Rx subscription $79 a month for same-day visits, messaging and refills; visit prices are set by each provider.
AlmaVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Alma's directory lets people filter for therapists who treat bipolar disorder; care depends on the clinician chosen.
CBTInterpersonal and social rhythm therapy (IPSRT)
Not statedBills insurance in networkInsured clients pay $28 per session on average, per Alma's prescriber page.
Grow TherapyVisit site
Insurance marketplace
Grow Therapy's directory lists therapists who focus on bipolar disorder, and Grow says it gives access to therapists who specialize in addressing it.
CBTDBT
Not statedBills insurance in network

Medicaid: most states, plan by plan

Clients pay $21 per session on average with insurance; each therapist lists their own cost for cash-pay sessions.
OctaveVisit site
Insurance marketplace22 states + DC
Adults
Octave lists bipolar disorder among the clinical conditions its individual therapists treat, for adults 18 and older.
CBTDBTACT
Bills insurance in networkOut-of-pocket individual therapy costs $170-250 per session; Octave says most in-network clients pay about $28.
Online-Therapy.comVisit site
Subscription therapy
Online-Therapy.com offers a CBT-based therapy program for bipolar disorder that it describes as often used as a supportive approach alongside medical care.
CBT
Out of network only$60/wk ($48/wk for the first month with its 20% discount), billed monthly
ZencareVisit site
Therapist directory
Zencare is a directory: its bipolar disorder page says it lists vetted therapists who specialize in bipolar disorder.
CBTPsychodynamic
Not statedDepends on the providerNo self-pay price published
Included Health
Employer / EAPEmployer or plan benefit
Its Doctor On Demand practice lists bipolar disorder (mild to moderate) among conditions its clinicians treat; includedhealth.com itself does not name bipolar disorder.Employer or plan benefit only

Medicaid: through a sponsoring health plan

No self-pay price published

Read from each service's own pages on Oct 30, 2026. Insurance is read for psychiatric care where a service prescribes, otherwise for therapy. Prices are stated per visit, per month or per plan, as each source states them, and medicine and lab work are usually paid on top.

Check before you pay

5 services say they do not treat bipolar disorder

Each one's own words, from its own pages. Some treat related symptoms or refer you elsewhere; read the line before you sign up.

The medicines

What the FDA has approved for bipolar disorder

The bipolar medicines people ask about most, with what each FDA label approves it for, and the rules around them.

MedicineClassFDA label approves it for
Lithium carbonateLithiumBipolar I disorder only, as monotherapy: acute manic and mixed episodes, and maintenance treatment, in patients 7 years and older
Lamotrigine (Lamictal)AnticonvulsantMaintenance treatment of bipolar I disorder only: to delay mood episodes in patients already treated for an acute episode with standard therapy; not recommended for acute manic or mixed episodes; no age is stated for the bipolar use, and a trial in ages 10 to 17 did not establish safety or efficacy (also epilepsy)
Divalproex sodium (valproate) (Depakote)AnticonvulsantManic episodes associated with bipolar disorder (also epilepsy and migraine prevention); the indication states no age, and a trial in ages 10 to 17 did not establish efficacy for mania
Quetiapine (Seroquel)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I mania (acute treatment, alone or added to lithium or divalproex; efficacy shown in adults and in a trial in ages 10 to 17), bipolar depression in adults with bipolar I or II (alone), and maintenance of bipolar I added to lithium or divalproex in adults (also schizophrenia); not approved under age 10
Lurasidone (Latuda)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I depression only: alone in adults and in children and teens 10 to 17, or added to lithium or valproate in adults (also schizophrenia from age 13); not labeled for mania
Cariprazine (Vraylar)Atypical antipsychoticAcute manic or mixed episodes of bipolar I disorder in adults and in children and teens 10 and older, and bipolar I depression in adults (also schizophrenia from age 13 and, in adults, an add-on for major depressive disorder)
Lumateperone (Caplyta)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I or II depression in adults, alone or added to lithium or valproate; safety and effectiveness not established in pediatric patients (also schizophrenia and, in adults, an add-on for major depressive disorder)
Aripiprazole (Abilify)Atypical antipsychoticAcute treatment of manic and mixed episodes of bipolar I disorder, alone or added to lithium or valproate, in adults and in children and teens 10 to 17 (also schizophrenia, an add-on for major depressive disorder, autism irritability and Tourette's); the label lists no bipolar depression or maintenance use
Olanzapine (Zyprexa)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I manic or mixed episodes: acute treatment and maintenance in adults, acute treatment in teens 13 to 17, and added to lithium or valproate in adults (also schizophrenia); bipolar I depression only in combination with fluoxetine (see olanzapine and fluoxetine)
Olanzapine and fluoxetineAntipsychotic and SSRIAcute depressive episodes in bipolar I disorder, in adults and in children and teens 10 to 17 (also treatment resistant depression); carries the antidepressant boxed warning
Carbamazepine extended-release (Equetro)AnticonvulsantAcute manic or mixed episodes of bipolar I disorder (also trigeminal neuralgia pain and epilepsy); safety and effectiveness not established in pediatric patients
Risperidone (Risperdal)Atypical antipsychoticAcute manic or mixed episodes of bipolar I disorder: alone in adults and in children and teens 10 to 17, or added to lithium or valproate in adults (also schizophrenia and autism irritability)
Asenapine (Saphris)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I disorder: acute manic or mixed episodes alone in adults and in children and teens 10 to 17, added to lithium or valproate in adults, and maintenance alone in adults (also schizophrenia in adults)
Ziprasidone (Geodon)Atypical antipsychoticBipolar I disorder in adults: monotherapy for acute manic or mixed episodes, and added to lithium or valproate for maintenance (also schizophrenia)
How you pay

Bipolar treatment with insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, or without

The services above that a person can start on their own, by how they can be paid (psychiatric care where they prescribe, therapy otherwise).

Name Medicaid or Medicare (21)

Free help

Free support groups and lines

Free to anyone. Support and crisis counseling, not ongoing treatment. Each verified on its own official page.

988 Suicide & Crisis LifelineNationalCrisis line

The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline is free, confidential and available 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

Who
Anyone
What it gives
Crisis counseling by call, text or chat (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org
Crisis Text LineNationalCrisis line

Crisis Text Line offers free, confidential support 24 hours a day to anyone facing mental health challenges.

Who
Anyone
What it gives
Text support from trained volunteer crisis counselors (not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Text HOME to 741741
SAMHSA's National HelplineNationalHelpline

SAMHSA's National Helpline is a free, confidential, 24/7 treatment referral and information service; callers without insurance are referred to state-funded programs, often ones that charge on a sliding fee scale.

Who
Anyone facing a substance use or mental disorder, and their families
What it gives
Treatment referral and information, 24/7, in English and Spanish (not counseling)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 1-800-662-HELP (4357), TTY 1-800-487-4889, or text your ZIP code to 435748
NAMI HelpLineNationalHelpline

The NAMI HelpLine is a free, confidential service offering emotional support, information and resources by phone or text on weekdays; it is not a crisis line, and in a crisis NAMI points to 988.

Who
Anyone, for themselves, family or friends
What it gives
Emotional support, mental health information and resources from trained staff (not a crisis line, not therapy)
Cost
Free
How to start
Call 1-800-950-NAMI (6264) or text NAMI to 62640, Monday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET
DBSA online support groupsNationalPeer support

The Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance runs free online support groups for people living with depression or bipolar disorder.

Who
People living with depression or bipolar disorder
What it gives
Free online peer support groups
Cost
Free
How to start
Register for a meeting through DBSA's online support groups page
DBSA chapter support groupsNational network of local chaptersPeer support

DBSA chapters offer peer-run support groups across the nation, in a confidential and supportive setting.

Who
People with mood disorders and their families; the selection of services differs by chapter
What it gives
Peer-run, mostly volunteer-run support groups with facilitated meetings (not group therapy); some chapters add educational sessions or information on local professionals
How to start
On the DBSA Chapters page, choose Find An In-Person Support Group or Join An Online Support Group
NAMI Connection support groupNational (local and virtual groups)Peer support

NAMI Connection is a free, peer-led support group for any adult who has experienced symptoms of a mental health condition.

Who
Any adult (18+) who has experienced symptoms of a mental health condition
What it gives
A structured, confidential, peer-led recovery support group led by trained leaders with lived experience; about 90 minutes, weekly, every other week or monthly depending on location
Cost
Free of cost to participants
How to start
On the NAMI Connection page, select your state to find the nearest group; many groups are virtual and open to everyone across the country
Questions

Online bipolar treatment, answered

Can you get treatment for bipolar disorder online?
Yes, at some services. 31 services here say on their own pages that they treat bipolar disorder, and 26 prescribe medication for it: Affect, Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Array Behavioral Care, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Cerebral, Charlie Health, Doctor On Demand, Eleanor Health, Headway, LifeStance Health, MDLIVE, Meru Health, Mindful Care, PlushCare, Rula, SonderMind, Spring Health, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Thriveworks, Wellnite, Klarity Health, Sesame and Included Health. 5 say they do not treat it: Circle Medical, Hims & Hers, Joyous, Lemonaid Health and Mindbloom. NIMH says mental health professionals treat bipolar disorder with medications, psychotherapy, or a combination of treatments.
Does BetterHelp treat bipolar disorder?
BetterHelp says it can match members with a licensed therapist who has experience helping people who live with bipolar disorder.
Does Talkspace treat bipolar disorder?
Talkspace offers online therapy and psychiatry for bipolar disorder, including therapy for teens.
Does Cerebral treat bipolar disorder?
Cerebral offers medication and therapy for bipolar disorder, and its list of conditions marks bipolar disorder as treated in certain states.
Can you get lithium prescribed online?
11 services here name lithium on their own pages: Affect, Cerebral, Eleanor Health, LifeStance Health, PlushCare, SonderMind, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Thriveworks, Klarity Health and Sesame. Lithium is not a controlled substance, but it needs regular blood tests. The lithium label carries a boxed warning: lithium toxicity is closely related to serum lithium concentrations and can occur at doses close to therapeutic ones, so facilities for prompt and accurate serum lithium determinations should be available before treatment starts. 12 services here say how they handle lab work.
Which online bipolar treatment takes insurance?
26 of the services that treat bipolar disorder bill insurance in network (for psychiatric care where they prescribe): Affect, Amwell, Anywhere Clinic, Array Behavioral Care, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Cerebral, Charlie Health, Doctor On Demand, Eleanor Health, Headway, LifeStance Health, MDLIVE, Meru Health, Mindful Care, PlushCare, Rula, SonderMind, Spring Health, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Thriveworks, Wellnite, Alma, Grow Therapy and Octave. 12 name Medicaid: Affect, Anywhere Clinic, Array Behavioral Care, Brightside Health, Charlie Health, Doctor On Demand, Eleanor Health, Headway, LifeStance Health, MDLIVE, Mindful Care and Grow Therapy. 20 name Medicare: Affect, Anywhere Clinic, Array Behavioral Care, BetterHelp, Brightside Health, Cerebral, Doctor On Demand, Eleanor Health, Headway, LifeStance Health, MDLIVE, Mindful Care, PlushCare, Rula, SonderMind, Talkiatry, Talkspace, Thriveworks, Alma and Grow Therapy. What you pay depends on your plan.
Can antidepressants alone treat bipolar depression?
NIMH says antidepressants are not used alone in bipolar disorder because they can trigger a manic episode or rapid cycling. The CANMAT and ISBD 2018 guideline says antidepressant monotherapy should not be used for the treatment of bipolar I depression.
Does online treatment work for bipolar disorder?
A 2022 systematic review of telepsychiatry for bipolar disorder reported that reliable diagnoses can be made using remote interviews, satisfaction rates are comparable to in-person services, and patient outcomes can improve using a telepsychiatry intervention. The same 2022 review concluded that research on telepsychiatry diagnosis and treatment of bipolar disorder is sparse, with only emerging evidence of its reliability, effectiveness and acceptance.
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, pharmacy or insurer. What each service offers is its own statement on the dates shown and can change. Only a qualified clinician can diagnose bipolar disorder or decide whether a medication is appropriate; never stop or change a medication without your prescriber. If someone is in danger or thinking about suicide, call or text 988, or call 911.
Keep going

Compare deeper