Head to head

Charlie Health vs Grow Therapy

How Charlie Health and Grow Therapy differ on cost, insurance, medication and how you get a therapist, from each service's own pages.

Updated monthly · checked 2 wk ago
2of 2 prices found on their own pages Nov 1, 2026

Charlie Health and Grow Therapy publish no price without insurance. Both bill insurance in network; what you pay is set by your plan, not the service. Only Grow Therapy's pages name Medicare, within the limits its pages state. Only Grow Therapy prescribes controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants, when a clinician judges it appropriate. Only Grow Therapy lets you pick your therapist yourself.

Charlie Health:
Virtual intensive outpatient program (higher acuity).
Grow Therapy:
Insurance-accepting therapist marketplace (browse and choose).

In common: both bill insurance in network; both serve adults, teens, children and families.

Cost

What Charlie Health and Grow Therapy cost

Each price as the service's own page states it. Only two recurring plans are ranked against each other; a per-session price and an insurance copay never are.

Both bill insurance in network; what you pay is set by your plan, not the service.

Charlie Health

virtual intensive outpatient program, priced through insurance (in-network with most major plans, TRICARE, select Medicaid)

Grow Therapy

average cost per session in network (125+ plans incl. Medicaid, Medicare in most states); its insurance page states $0 to $50

Differences

What else differs

Only where their own pages give different answers, each linked to the page that states it.

Only Grow Therapy's pages name Medicare.

Only Grow Therapy prescribes controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants, when a clinician judges it appropriate.

Charlie Health

Controlled substances: restricted

Grow Therapy

Controlled substances: prescribed when appropriate

Getting a therapist

Only Grow Therapy lets you pick your therapist yourself.

Session formats

Only Charlie Health offers group sessions. Only Grow Therapy offers phone.

Grow Therapy

Where it is available

Charlie Health
Grow Therapy
Every attribute

Side by side

Brands
Charlie Health
Grow Therapy
Session types
VideoGroup
VideoPhone
Psychiatry / meds
Yes
Controlled meds: restricted
Yes
Controlled meds: prescribed when appropriate
Ages served
ChildrenTeensAdultsFamilies
AdultsTeensChildrenCouplesFamilies
Provider network
–
Availability
Late cancel or no-show
No fee stated
Cancelling
Not stated
Refunds: not stated
How to cancel Charlie Health
Client portal (inside 24 hours: your provider)
Refunds: only in stated cases
How to cancel Grow Therapy
Launched
–

Blue marks the lower monthly price where every service compared sells a recurring plan; a per-session price and an insurance copay (set by your plan) are never ranked. Attributes (matching, session types, ages, coverage, insurance, financial aid) are from each service's own pages or, where a service does not publish them, a recent independent review, last verified 2026-10-18; open a service for its source. Reported improvement is from that service's OWN published study (different populations, durations, and formats), shown with its study as a guide and never crowned a cross-study winner. These are facts, not a recommendation: the right choice depends on your goal, your insurance, and your therapist.

For therapists

Charlie Health vs Grow Therapy for therapists

Choosing where to practice rather than where to get care? What each platform's own pages tell clinicians.

PlatformHow you work with itContractor or employeeCost to youPay it publishesInsurance credentialingLicensesOpen clinical roles today
Charlie HealthMixedContractor or employee, by roleNot statedNot applicableLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Associates33
Grow TherapyOwn practice, it billsIndependent contractor (1099)FreeNo figure publishedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP0
Go deeper

Open the full record

OnlineTherapy.me is an informational comparison platform, not a medical or mental-health provider. It does not offer therapy, diagnosis, or treatment, and nothing here is medical or mental-health advice or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any care. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm details with the provider and a licensed clinician. If you are in crisis, call or text 988 (Suicide & Crisis Lifeline), or call 911 if you are in immediate danger.