Charlie Health vs Talkiatry
How Charlie Health and Talkiatry differ on cost, insurance, medication and how you get a therapist, from each service's own pages.
- Updated monthly · checked 2 wk ago
Charlie Health and Talkiatry publish no price without insurance. Both bill insurance in network; what you pay is set by your plan, not the service. Only Talkiatry's pages name Medicare, within the limits its pages state. Only Charlie Health takes Medicaid, within the limits its pages state. Only Talkiatry prescribes controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants, when a clinician judges it appropriate.
- Charlie Health:
- Virtual intensive outpatient program (higher acuity).
- Talkiatry:
- Insurance-based online psychiatry (in-network only).
In common: both bill insurance in network; both serve adults, teens and children.
What Charlie Health and Talkiatry cost
Each price as the service's own page states it. Only two recurring plans are ranked against each other; a per-session price and an insurance copay never are.
Without insurance
Every self-pay price, side by sideWith insurance
Online therapy by insurance planBoth bill insurance in network; what you pay is set by your plan, not the service.
virtual intensive outpatient program, priced through insurance (in-network with most major plans, TRICARE, select Medicaid)
typical copay in-network (insurance-first psychiatry; 100+ insurers)
What else differs
Only where their own pages give different answers, each linked to the page that states it.
Only Talkiatry's pages name Medicare.
Only Charlie Health takes Medicaid.
Medication
Online psychiatry, by prescribing policyOnly Talkiatry prescribes controlled substances such as ADHD stimulants, when a clinician judges it appropriate.
Who it serves
Session formats
Only Charlie Health offers group sessions. Only Talkiatry offers messaging.
Where it is available
Side by side
Plans named: Cigna, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Aetna, Humana, TRICARE, UnitedHealthcare, Kaiser Permanente (CA, CO, MD, OR and WA, with a Kaiser referral), Oscar (Florida)
Plans named: Aetna, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Cigna, Humana, Oscar, UnitedHealthcare. Not accepted: Medicaid
Blue marks the lower monthly price where every service compared sells a recurring plan; a per-session price and an insurance copay (set by your plan) are never ranked. Attributes (matching, session types, ages, coverage, insurance, financial aid) are from each service's own pages or, where a service does not publish them, a recent independent review, last verified 2026-10-18; open a service for its source. Reported improvement is from that service's OWN published study (different populations, durations, and formats), shown with its study as a guide and never crowned a cross-study winner. These are facts, not a recommendation: the right choice depends on your goal, your insurance, and your therapist.
Charlie Health vs Talkiatry for therapists
Choosing where to practice rather than where to get care? What each platform's own pages tell clinicians.
| Platform | How you work with it | Contractor or employee | Cost to you | Pay it publishes | Insurance credentialing | Licenses | Open clinical roles today |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlie Health | Mixed | Contractor or employee, by role | Not stated |
| Not applicable | LCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Associates | 33 |
| Talkiatry | Employer | Employee (W-2) | Not stated |
| Credentials you | LCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychiatrist, PMHNP | 154 |