For therapists

Lyra Health vs Headway for therapists

Choosing where to practice? What Lyra Health's and Headway's own pages tell clinicians, side by side: how you work with each, what each charges you and keeps, what each says about pay, credentialing and malpractice, each fact linked to the page that says it.

Clinician facts ยท checked 3 wk ago
Not statedLyra Health: cost to you
FeeHeadway: cost to you

Lyra Health offers contract work on its platform and some employee roles; Headway lets you keep your own practice and bills insurance for you. Headway is free to join, but charges $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, and keeps 2.95% of private-pay sessions. Lyra Health prints pay from $70,000 - $92,000 per year in its own job postings; Headway publishes no pay figure. Headway credentials you with insurers and says it takes anywhere from 3 weeks to 4 months to be approved. Lyra Health: Listed among the benefits of its employed (W2) full-time therapist postings. Headway requires your own policy.

Apply to Lyra HealthApply to HeadwayOn each platform's own site, which reviews every application.
At a glance

Lyra Health vs Headway: the short version

One line each. Open a platform for every fact it states.

PlatformHow you work with itContractor or employeeCost to youPay it publishesInsurance credentialingLicensesOpen clinical roles today
Lyra HealthMixedContractor or employee, by roleNot statedNot statedLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist268
HeadwayOwn practice, it billsYour own practiceFree to join; $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026No figure publishedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP8
Side by side

Lyra Health vs Headway, fact by fact

Each platform in its own words, from its pages for providers, its provider help center and its own job postings. Where a platform's pages are silent, we say so.

Rates

The rate Headway does not print

Headway prints no per-session rate: what you are paid depends on your license, your state and the client's insurer. Medicare's schedule is public, so it is the reference point to ask against.

Medicare 2026, national amount per session (office, or telehealth to a client at home)
SessionLCSWs, LMFTs, LPCsPsychiatric NPs, PAsPsychologists, psychiatrists
90837 (60 minutes)$125.25$141.95$167.00
90834 (45 minutes)$85.43$96.82$113.90

Computed from CMS's fee schedule files and the shares in CMS's mental health booklet. Medicare adjusts every amount for where you practice, and commercial insurers set their own rates. Medicare rates in your state

Questions

Lyra Health vs Headway for therapists: questions, answered

Lyra Health vs Headway for therapists: what is the difference?
Lyra Health offers contract work on its platform and some employee roles; Headway lets you keep your own practice and bills insurance for you. Headway is free to join, but charges $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, and keeps 2.95% of private-pay sessions. Lyra Health prints pay from $70,000 - $92,000 per year in its own job postings; Headway publishes no pay figure. Headway credentials you with insurers and says it takes anywhere from 3 weeks to 4 months to be approved. Lyra Health: Listed among the benefits of its employed (W2) full-time therapist postings. Headway requires your own policy.
Who pays more, Lyra Health or Headway?
Lyra Health: For employed (W2) full-time therapist roles Lyra prints annual base salary ranges in its job postings (figures below, each tied to its posting). Headway: Headway prints no rate schedule publicly. Ask each for the rate for your license, state and insurers, in writing, before you sign. For reference, Medicare's 2026 national amount for a 60-minute session (90837) is $125.25 for an LCSW, LMFT or LPC, $141.95 for a psychiatric nurse practitioner and $167.00 for a psychologist or psychiatrist, before the adjustment for where you practice.
Are Lyra Health and Headway therapists contractors or employees?
Lyra Health: Network therapists are contracted (the postings are titled 1099 Contractor and say the contracting entity is Lyra Clinical Associates); Lyra also hires W2 employees for full-time telehealth therapist roles (see pay figures and benefits). Headway: You keep your own practice; Headway's pages describe providers keeping their practice in one place on Headway and do not describe them as its employees.
Do Lyra Health or Headway provide malpractice insurance?
Lyra Health: Listed among the benefits of its employed (W2) full-time therapist postings. Headway: Every provider must buy their own professional liability insurance; minimum limits vary by state and license type. Headway does not require being named an additional insured.
Can pre-licensed or associate clinicians join Lyra Health or Headway?
Lyra Health does not accept pre-licensed or associate clinicians. Headway's pages do not say.
Can you see clients in person through Lyra Health or Headway?
Lyra Health: Contractor network postings say Lyra's network includes in-person and virtual therapists and that working with clients in person through your private or group practice is strongly preferred; the full-time employed roles are remote telehealth. Headway: You can see clients in person at an office location you list on Headway, as well as by telehealth. In-person visits in a client's home are not supported.
Pay alerts

Know when Lyra Health or Headway changes its pay or terms

We re-check what every platform pays, charges and requires each month. When one changes, you get one short email saying what changed and where.

Paid AI-training work for clinicians

AI companies hire licensed clinicians as remote contractors to write and grade mental-health material for their models: 8 roles open today, at $45 to $155 an hour as posted.

See the roles

Building your own practice instead?

The Practice Academy, from Practice of the Practice, is a paid membership with courses, coaching and a community for therapists starting or growing a private practice. Referral link: OnlineTherapy.me earns a fee from Practice of the Practice if you join through it. It never changes what these pages report about any platform.

See The Practice Academy

Spending evenings on notes?

Blueprint is AI software for therapists that drafts progress notes, treatment plans and client letters, and handles claims and eligibility; it runs alongside the EHR you already use or as its own all-in-one EHR. Referral link: OnlineTherapy.me earns a fee from Blueprint if you join through it. It never changes what these pages report about any platform.

See Blueprint
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not an employer, recruiter or legal adviser. Neither Lyra Health nor Headway pays it for this page or its Apply links. It reports what each platform's own pages said when checked (Oct 13, 2026 and Oct 13, 2026); terms, rates and requirements change, and your agreement with the platform is what binds you.
Keep going

More for therapists choosing a platform