For therapists

Headway vs Alma vs Grow Therapy vs Rula vs SonderMind, for therapists

The platforms therapists weigh when they want to take insurance without running the billing themselves, plus the ones they weigh them against, compared on what each one's own pages say: what it charges you, what it keeps, how it credentials you, what it says about pay, and malpractice.

Clinician facts · checked 3 wk ago
9platforms compared
16head-to-head comparisons

Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy, Rula and SonderMind all keep you in your own practice and bill insurance for you; they differ in what they charge, what they keep and what they print. Grow Therapy, Rula and SonderMind say joining is free. Headway is free to join, but charges $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026. Alma charges $125 a month, or $1,140 a year. From a private-pay session, Grow Therapy keeps 5%, Headway keeps 2.95% and Alma keeps nothing. SonderMind says it provides malpractice coverage; Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and Rula require your own policy. Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and Rula print no per-session rate; SonderMind prints pay in its own job postings.

In one table

Every platform, side by side

One line per platform; each cell links to the page that states it. Open a platform for everything its pages say.

PlatformHow you work with itContractor or employeeCost to youPay it publishesInsurance credentialingLicensesOpen clinical roles today
HeadwayOwn practice, it billsYour own practiceFree to join; $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026No figure publishedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP8
AlmaOwn practice, it billsYour own practice$125 a month, or $1,140 a yearNo figure publishedCredentials you (up to 45 days)LCSW, LPC/LMHC, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNPNo public job board found
Grow TherapyOwn practice, it billsIndependent contractor (1099)FreeNo figure publishedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP0
RulaOwn practice, it billsIndependent contractor (1099)FreeNo figure publishedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP0
SonderMindOwn practice, it billsContractor or employee, by roleFreeCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP132
BetterHelpNetworkIndependent contractor (1099)FreeYou bill under its contractsLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP141
TalkspaceMixedContractor or employee, by roleFreeCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, PMHNP, Associates0
LifeStance HealthEmployerEmployee (W-2)Not statedCredentials youLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist, Psychiatrist, PMHNP, PA, Associates1,356
Lyra HealthMixedContractor or employee, by roleNot statedNot statedLCSW, LPC/LMHC, LMFT, Psychologist268
Head to head

The pairs therapists compare

Each pairing therapists search for, compared fact by fact with both platforms' sources.

Headway vs Alma for therapistsHeadway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay; Alma $125 a month.Headway vs Grow Therapy for therapistsHeadway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay; Grow Therapy free to…Headway vs Rula for therapistsHeadway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay; Rula free to join.SonderMind vs Headway for therapistsSonderMind free to join; Headway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay.Alma vs Grow Therapy for therapistsAlma $125 a month; Grow Therapy free to join, 5% of private pay. Neither publishes its rates.Rula vs Alma for therapistsRula free to join; Alma $125 a month. Neither publishes its rates. Every fact cited to the platforms' own pages.Rula vs Grow Therapy for therapistsRula free to join; Grow Therapy free to join, 5% of private pay. Neither publishes its rates.SonderMind vs Grow Therapy for therapistsSonderMind free to join; Grow Therapy free to join, 5% of private pay. Grow Therapy publishes no rates.SonderMind vs Alma for therapistsSonderMind free to join; Alma $125 a month. Alma publishes no rates. Every fact cited to the platforms' own pages.Rula vs SonderMind for therapistsRula free to join; SonderMind free to join. Rula publishes no rates. Every fact cited to the platforms' own pages.BetterHelp vs Headway for therapistsBetterHelp free to join; Headway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay.Talkspace vs BetterHelp for therapistsTalkspace free to join; BetterHelp free to join. Every fact cited to the platforms' own pages.Rula vs BetterHelp for therapistsRula free to join; BetterHelp free to join. Rula publishes no rates. Every fact cited to the platforms' own pages.LifeStance Health vs Headway for therapistsHeadway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay.Talkspace vs Headway for therapistsTalkspace free to join; Headway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay.Lyra Health vs Headway for therapistsHeadway free to join, $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026, 2.95% of private pay.
Rates

The rate most of them do not print

Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and Rula print no per-session rate: what you are paid depends on your license, your state and the client's insurer. Medicare's schedule is public, so it is the reference point to ask against.

Medicare 2026, national amount per session (office, or telehealth to a client at home)
SessionLCSWs, LMFTs, LPCsPsychiatric NPs, PAsPsychologists, psychiatrists
90837 (60 minutes)$125.25$141.95$167.00
90834 (45 minutes)$85.43$96.82$113.90

Computed from CMS's fee schedule files and the shares in CMS's mental health booklet. Medicare adjusts every amount for where you practice, and commercial insurers set their own rates. Medicare rates in your state

Questions

Choosing a platform: questions, answered

Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy, Rula and SonderMind: which is best for therapists?
None is best for every therapist; the facts that differ are what each charges, what it keeps and how it credentials you. Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy, Rula and SonderMind all keep you in your own practice and bill insurance for you; they differ in what they charge, what they keep and what they print. Grow Therapy, Rula and SonderMind say joining is free. Headway is free to join, but charges $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026. Alma charges $125 a month, or $1,140 a year. From a private-pay session, Grow Therapy keeps 5%, Headway keeps 2.95% and Alma keeps nothing. SonderMind says it provides malpractice coverage; Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and Rula require your own policy. Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy and Rula print no per-session rate; SonderMind prints pay in its own job postings.
Which of these platforms are free for therapists?
Grow Therapy, Rula, SonderMind, BetterHelp and Talkspace say on their own pages that joining costs clinicians nothing. Headway is free to join, but charges $9.99 per marketplace-client session from Nov 2026. Alma charges $125 a month, or $1,140 a year.
Which platforms take a cut of private-pay sessions?
Headway: Headway's payout for a private-pay session deducts 2.95% of your session rate for payment processing and its cost of supporting the session. There is no fee when the client pays by bank account. Alma: Alma's FAQ says it takes no cut of your fee from visits with cash-pay clients: the income from cash-pay clients stays with you, and it charges only the membership fee. Grow Therapy: Grow's payment policy for cash-pay appointments pays providers what the client paid, minus a 5% processing fee.
How long does credentialing take on each platform?
Headway: Anywhere from 3 weeks to 4 months to be approved. Alma: Up to 45 days. Grow Therapy: An average of 5-7 days (first payor); some payors take 2+ months and some beyond 6 months. Rula: Timelines vary by state and payer. SonderMind: Up to 120 business days to be fully credentialed in the additional plans. Each says timing depends on the insurer and the state.
How often does each platform pay therapists?
Headway: Paid twice a month, on the 15th and the last day of the month. Alma: Alma says members can choose a weekly or bi-weekly payout schedule, and its insurance page lists a weekly payout schedule. Grow Therapy: Payouts start every Friday morning (ET) by direct deposit via Stripe, arriving in 1 to 3 business days. Rula: Paid every other Friday by direct deposit through Wingspan, for sessions in the previous two weeks. SonderMind: Bi-weekly pay for completed sessions and no-shows in each pay period; SonderMind says it does not wait for insurance claims to process before paying. BetterHelp: Compensation is paid weekly. Talkspace: 1099 providers are paid semi-monthly by direct deposit: services from the 1st to the 15th are paid on the 25th of that month, and services from the 16th to month end are paid on the 10th of the following month.
Which platforms provide malpractice insurance?
SonderMind, LifeStance Health and Lyra Health say they provide it, at least for some roles or clients. Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy, Rula, BetterHelp and Talkspace require your own policy.
Do Headway, Alma, Grow Therapy or Rula publish their reimbursement rates?
Headway: Headway prints no rate schedule publicly. Alma: Alma does not publish what it pays or reimburses per session. Grow Therapy: Grow prints no rate schedule publicly. Rula: Rula prints no pay figure. For reference, Medicare's 2026 national amount for a 60-minute session (90837) is $125.25 for an LCSW, LMFT or LPC, $141.95 for a psychiatric nurse practitioner and $167.00 for a psychologist or psychiatrist, before the adjustment for where you practice.
Pay alerts

Know when a platform changes its pay or terms

We re-check what every platform pays, charges and requires each month. When one changes, you get one short email saying what changed and where.

Paid AI-training work for clinicians

AI companies hire licensed clinicians as remote contractors to write and grade mental-health material for their models: 8 roles open today, at $45 to $155 an hour as posted.

See the roles

Building your own practice instead?

The Practice Academy, from Practice of the Practice, is a paid membership with courses, coaching and a community for therapists starting or growing a private practice. Referral link: OnlineTherapy.me earns a fee from Practice of the Practice if you join through it. It never changes what these pages report about any platform.

See The Practice Academy

Spending evenings on notes?

Blueprint is AI software for therapists that drafts progress notes, treatment plans and client letters, and handles claims and eligibility; it runs alongside the EHR you already use or as its own all-in-one EHR. Referral link: OnlineTherapy.me earns a fee from Blueprint if you join through it. It never changes what these pages report about any platform.

See Blueprint
OnlineTherapy.me is an informational data platform, not an employer, recruiter or legal adviser. It reports what each platform's own pages said when checked; terms, rates and requirements change, and your agreement with the platform is what binds you.
Keep going

More for therapists